Temperature probe for 9800 Pro - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-29-2005, 04:13 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 378
Default Temperature probe for 9800 Pro

Has anyone with a Radeon 9800 Pro got a good way of measuring GPU temp? I know it takes a probe of some sort, but are there any that will allow software monitoring?
__________________

__________________
ilovesocks is offline  
Old 09-29-2005, 06:52 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

sometimes your 9800pro has the LM63 chip on it. whihc if you download ATITOol then you might have a temp chip on it. but if not then you need to buy a third party temperature monitor and put it next to the GPU
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 09-29-2005, 12:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 378
Default

Do you have a suggestion on a good temperature monitor? And are there any that allow for software monitoring?
__________________
ilovesocks is offline  
Old 09-29-2005, 03:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

...aTiTool

you should also mod your 9800pro into a 9800XT, you got the artic cooling on their why not mod?
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 09-29-2005, 07:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,107
Send a message via AIM to Counter-Strike
Default

I am guessing you Idle and Load pretty low with that cooling on it.

ATI Tool is the best out there.

And like said, flash to an XT.
__________________
<img src=\"http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/5743/sig9cd1.gif\" border=\"0\">
Check out www.advancedgeeks.com Great new forum!
Counter-Strike is offline  
Old 09-29-2005, 09:55 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 378
Default

Hmm I read an article that said flashing to an XT hardly makes any performance difference, and isn't really worth it because of the risk involved. What difference does the XT BIOS really make?

Also, where in ATiTool should it say the temperature? I looked through the settings and couldn't find anything .. does that mean there's no temp chip? When I asked for a good temperature monitor, I meant a physical one that I'd install on it, because it looks like I'm going to need one.

Finally, I don't think the temperatures are very low, because I have a small case. There's a 120mm 78cfm fan blowing into it that makes quite a difference with CPU and system temps, but I'm not getting very good overclocking results. When I get the chance I'm going to reinstall the heatsink to make sure I didn't put too much Arctic Silver or something.

Thanks for the help!
__________________

__________________
ilovesocks is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.