Temperature Guide - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-19-2006, 09:20 PM   #21 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

It really just does depend on the program, 3dmark only takes my card up to 57C but BF2 takes me up to 62ishC. Im wondering about Diablo though, are you OC'ing in 2dmode?
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 01-19-2006, 09:38 PM   #22 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 961
Default

Nope no OCs in 2dmode, I think its because diablo 2 does use direct x 5 or 7 so maybe it does count as a 3d application. As for BF2, I'm getting it this weekend so I'll try and hopefully my temps are under 70, or at least not over 76. PZERO have you tried running the artifact scanner on ATI tool and seeing how high temps you get, for some reason that puts a HUGE stress on the system, Im thinking that will take you up to your bf2 temp.

Also I manged to low my temps 4 degrees by opening the window, before my room was about 26 degrees celcius, now its about 20. Ugh this is gonna be one aspect of summer I dont look forward to.
__________________

__________________
A+ certified.
I now am on the interweb:
www.thescurvyshack.com
Mr_Threepwood is offline  
Old 01-20-2006, 06:55 AM   #23 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

yeah i ran the artifact scanner and after each heat up mode it will go up around 5-10C it started at 40, went up to 50, went up to 55, went up to 67C i need a VF-700cu!
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 01-20-2006, 12:30 PM   #24 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 961
Default

Hmm well I have a few things I could do to improve heat, here's what I think they are.

1. Case mod my case so that I drill a hole in the backboard so the wires can go through that rather then blocking the airflow.

2. Move my PCI fan cooler to 1 slot up, right now it sits 2 slots below the card as opposed to right under it (wires blocking the way of that PCI slot).

3. Spray some good ol canned air onto the works and clean my room .

4. Id rather not do this one, but I could remove the GPU heatsink and apply my OCZ silver paste onto it (I dont have any AS5 ATM, dont wanna spend 15 bucks seeings as I have no income as a student).

If I do decide to do the case mod I'll make a post with pics to get suggestions as to how it should be done.
__________________
A+ certified.
I now am on the interweb:
www.thescurvyshack.com
Mr_Threepwood is offline  
Old 01-26-2006, 03:01 PM   #25 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 482
Default

Ok here is a nubbish question, how do you monitor your temps (my video card temps in particular) when you use a program or run a game to push your components to their limits.

For example I would like to know what temp my 7800gtx vid card gets up to while I play BF2. Any ideas?

Thanx
__________________
Flying-Squirrel is offline  
Old 01-26-2006, 06:04 PM   #26 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

You could just open your nvidia drivers, open up to the temps section. Run BF2 for an hour and minmize really quick and read the temp lol. Or if you have a secondary monitor, move the temp section box over to the second monitor and you can monitor your temps from the beginning
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 01-26-2006, 06:07 PM   #27 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 482
Default

I am afraid im not cool enough to have a second monitor at home however I do have 2 monitors at work one of them is a touchscreen too for doing crap with clients.

I guess I could try the quick minimize thing but that seems fairly inaccurate and iffy to me. isn't there any programs that will record temps every so often till you stop it that i could have run while i am in a game?
__________________
Flying-Squirrel is offline  
Old 01-26-2006, 06:08 PM   #28 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by PZEROFGH
You could just open your nvidia drivers, open up to the temps section. Run BF2 for an hour and minmize really quick and read the temp lol. Or if you have a secondary monitor, move the temp section box over to the second monitor and you can monitor your temps from the beginning
Um, that's not a good idea. Load temps can drop 5-10 degrees almost instantly, so that's not a good measure of load temps.

The best way to check load temps for your card is to use Rivatuner. It monitors temps and creates a graph. After running a game for a while, check the temp graph and as you hover over with your mouse, it will tell you the temps that occurred while you were playing the game.
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 01-26-2006, 06:13 PM   #29 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 482
Default

Ah yes its nice to get an answer from someone who isn't interested in half-azz work around solutions *coughpzerocough*

Thanx idiotec, I will definately do that. It is weird I always hear about rivatuner but I never actually downloaded it. Oh well now here is my chance!!

Edit: P.S. your reply loses all its professionalism as soon as I look a little further down and see your sig idiotec :freak:
__________________
Flying-Squirrel is offline  
Old 01-28-2006, 03:51 PM   #30 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 536
Default

its Radiohead! geez
__________________

__________________
-C2Q Q6700 @ 3.4ghz(cooled by PetraTech's Elite Water Cooling Kit)
-DFI Lanparty DK P35-T2RS
-4*1024 sticks of G.Skill Ram 4-4-4-12
-eVGA 8800GTX 630/2000
-80 gig 7200rpm SATA HDD
-320 gig 7200rpm SATA HDD
-Sony DVD/CD burner
-NZXT Tempest
-Antec True Power 550 watt PSU


MACBOOK
-2.4Ghz Penryn
-2GB RAM
-250GB HDD
will h4x 4 food is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.