Temp Too High? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-30-2004, 03:34 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 79
Default Temp Too High?

um i just installed motherboard monitor and it read 73 C. now i may not know much but i think thats pretty high. i have 2 fans mounted in the back, 1 heat sink fan and another fan across from that and one more in the front. anyway to lower temp?
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon XP 3000+/333 FSB 512K Barton @ 2.16GHz
Gigabyte GA-7N400-L nForce2 Ultra400 Dual Channel DDR
Geil 512MB PC-3200 (400MHz) DDR
Maxtor 80GB ATA133 7200RPM 8MB Cache
Sapphire Radeon 9800 Pro 128MB DDR
Lite-On 16x DVD-ROM (48x CD-ROM) Drive
Lite-On 52x32x52 CD-RW Drive
Windows XP Home
Seagate 120GB ATA133 7200RPM 8MB Cache
ACIDDROPPER is offline  
Old 05-30-2004, 03:50 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 340
Default

Did you overclock anything? If you didnt then that is definately not a good thing. Makesure your heatsink is mounted correctly and the fan is hooked up properly. Also makesure that you have put thermal gel or tape on the cpu.
__________________

__________________
I wish I had a computer but I am broke!!!
AndrewtheGreat is offline  
Old 05-30-2004, 04:31 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 72
Default

I could never get mbm to show the correct temp. So I hope thats the case for u.
..>Lost<.. is offline  
Old 05-30-2004, 04:55 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 79
Default

when i try to access bios, i have to enter a password, but i dont know what it is
__________________
AMD Athlon XP 3000+/333 FSB 512K Barton @ 2.16GHz
Gigabyte GA-7N400-L nForce2 Ultra400 Dual Channel DDR
Geil 512MB PC-3200 (400MHz) DDR
Maxtor 80GB ATA133 7200RPM 8MB Cache
Sapphire Radeon 9800 Pro 128MB DDR
Lite-On 16x DVD-ROM (48x CD-ROM) Drive
Lite-On 52x32x52 CD-RW Drive
Windows XP Home
Seagate 120GB ATA133 7200RPM 8MB Cache
ACIDDROPPER is offline  
Old 05-30-2004, 04:59 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 72
Default

Only thing i would think to do is look in your users manual for your mobo or get online at their web site if you don't have it and maybe it will tell you the default pw. One of these other guys might have a more solid answer for you.
..>Lost<.. is offline  
Old 05-30-2004, 05:47 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 79
Default

ok i got into the bios and it was 71 c for cpu and 30 c for case/overall.
__________________
AMD Athlon XP 3000+/333 FSB 512K Barton @ 2.16GHz
Gigabyte GA-7N400-L nForce2 Ultra400 Dual Channel DDR
Geil 512MB PC-3200 (400MHz) DDR
Maxtor 80GB ATA133 7200RPM 8MB Cache
Sapphire Radeon 9800 Pro 128MB DDR
Lite-On 16x DVD-ROM (48x CD-ROM) Drive
Lite-On 52x32x52 CD-RW Drive
Windows XP Home
Seagate 120GB ATA133 7200RPM 8MB Cache
ACIDDROPPER is offline  
Old 05-30-2004, 07:03 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii
Default

yea that's bad news, need to reseat your heatsink and see if the temp changes, do that first, I never trusted MBM5, it was displaying my temps around 45C when my bios was reading 51C... i stick to my bios readings
Demalii is offline  
Old 05-30-2004, 03:12 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 79
Default

all i know how to do is take off the fan part of the heatsink but i have no idea how to seperate the heatsink completely. my cooler is a CPU COOLER FORTRON SOURCE
__________________
AMD Athlon XP 3000+/333 FSB 512K Barton @ 2.16GHz
Gigabyte GA-7N400-L nForce2 Ultra400 Dual Channel DDR
Geil 512MB PC-3200 (400MHz) DDR
Maxtor 80GB ATA133 7200RPM 8MB Cache
Sapphire Radeon 9800 Pro 128MB DDR
Lite-On 16x DVD-ROM (48x CD-ROM) Drive
Lite-On 52x32x52 CD-RW Drive
Windows XP Home
Seagate 120GB ATA133 7200RPM 8MB Cache
ACIDDROPPER is offline  
Old 05-30-2004, 04:45 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii
Default

there's a.. bracket, you just gotta stick like a screwdriver or something in the socket of the bracket, pull out and up, be very careful it doesn't slide off the bracket and damage the mother board...
Demalii is offline  
Old 05-30-2004, 05:40 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 79
Default

ok im thinking of getting the thermaltake volcano 12. the site doesnt say if it comes with pad or thermal grease. also, i heard someone say that thermal grease can mess up amd's
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon XP 3000+/333 FSB 512K Barton @ 2.16GHz
Gigabyte GA-7N400-L nForce2 Ultra400 Dual Channel DDR
Geil 512MB PC-3200 (400MHz) DDR
Maxtor 80GB ATA133 7200RPM 8MB Cache
Sapphire Radeon 9800 Pro 128MB DDR
Lite-On 16x DVD-ROM (48x CD-ROM) Drive
Lite-On 52x32x52 CD-RW Drive
Windows XP Home
Seagate 120GB ATA133 7200RPM 8MB Cache
ACIDDROPPER is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.