Temp sensor's - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-05-2005, 05:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 38
Default Temp sensor's

Hi just received my fan controller and am trying to work out how to fit the temp sensors.

Where do i stick the case sensor and where do i fit the cpu temp sensor do i have to take of my heatsink and put it on the cpu.
__________________

fu77ier is offline  
Old 02-05-2005, 05:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

case sensor is just meant to hang in the case and get the ambient air.

The CPU sensor can sometimes be fit in the middle of the socket, meaning you gotta take out the cpu, fit the wire between the pins, so that the sensor is in the middle of the socket under the CPU, some wires are too thick though and obviously this isn't an option.

Other best bet is to try and get the sensor next to the CPU die. NOT ON IT though.

Get it next to the die if you can because there's that tiny amount of space between the CPU and the heatsink due to the core being raised.

If yours has a heatspreader on it, then you'd have to simply attach it to the side of the heatspreader or something.

Don't crush the sensor though
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 02-05-2005, 06:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 38
Default

Right ill give it ago !

Im just sorting my fan controller out and found that my case fans are connected using a molex 2 wire connector black and red and yet the fan controller wire has a connection on it like the mobo 3 wire fan connector red black and yellow .

Now i have cut and stripped the wires and connected just the red and black and it seems to work so whats the yellow wire for ?
fu77ier is offline  
Old 02-05-2005, 06:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,847
Send a message via AIM to OIDanTheManIO Send a message via Yahoo to OIDanTheManIO
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by fu77ier
Right ill give it ago !
Good Luck!

-Dan The Man
__________________
<a href=\"http://oi-forums.com/index.php?topic=187.0\"><img src=\"http://img171.echo.cx/img171/2096/getopera9zg6jw.png\"></a>
OIDanTheManIO is offline  
Old 02-05-2005, 06:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Yellow wire = RPM detection for fans
Nubius is offline  
Old 02-05-2005, 06:24 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

I've always just attached thermal probes to the heatsink.

I also think that putting the thermal probe for your case at the top would be beneficial because hot air rises, and you'll get a more accurate reading in my opinion than placing it in the bottom or in a spot where a fan is blowing air on it.
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.