Temp sensor question. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-13-2006, 03:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 28
Default Temp sensor question.

OK Ive got a question about my computer temps. When I start up the computer and go to my system moniter it says my temps are:

System 35C
CPU 40C
Board 39C

But as soon as I finish booting up I check Everest Home and it says my temps are:

System 53C
CPU 50C
Board 52C

Whats up with that?

lmk
nick
__________________

unicknn is offline  
Old 10-13-2006, 03:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 326
Send a message via AIM to vipercrazed Send a message via Yahoo to vipercrazed
Default

i thought system and board are the same thing...
what program do you first see these temps with?
i would be more confident with everest... but those temps are a bit worrysome

i would say you had your cpu heatsink on bad, but if your mobo had a temp of 50+ somethin is wrong
__________________

__________________
bfg tech 7900GT@475 still ll 3200+ venice@2.72, 1.55v ll OCZ 1GB ll WD 320 GB hdd
vipercrazed is offline  
Old 10-13-2006, 03:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 28
Default

The first temps come from the system moniter in the BIOS setup when I boot up the computer. How could my CPU fan be on bad it only goes on 1 way.


nick
unicknn is offline  
Old 10-13-2006, 03:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 28
Default

also when I touch the heatsink its not even warm. Ive got a Aerocool extreamengine3t so there is LOTS of air moving around in the case. Its not even warm inside of the computer even when Im running a heavy load on it. My old computer was pretty hot when I would pull th cover off of it this one is much much cooler. I have a foxconn C51XEM2AA AOM socket paired with an Athlon AMD Athlon 64 X2 4600+ Windsor 2.4GHz.

nick
unicknn is offline  
Old 10-13-2006, 04:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 326
Send a message via AIM to vipercrazed Send a message via Yahoo to vipercrazed
Default

boy you got alot to learn, just because your heat sink only goes one way doesnt mean its correctly mounted, or that the thermal interface material is correctly applied either...

what heatsink do you use and what paste if any, did you put on it?(that aerocool turbine lookin thing for a heatsink?)
if i were you id get just abotu every program that read temps and compared them, and then i would download prime95 and do large fft's watch the temp rise and see how high your temp can go, if it stays were you say it is i guess your ok, but if it gets higher your gonna be in trouble somewhere down the road

i get like a 27-9c reading in my bios when i first start it, because that is ambient temp and my cpu hasnt been under a load of any kind when i first enter bios......
__________________
bfg tech 7900GT@475 still ll 3200+ venice@2.72, 1.55v ll OCZ 1GB ll WD 320 GB hdd
vipercrazed is offline  
Old 10-13-2006, 04:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 28
Default

Im just using the stock fan and paste for now untill I get it watercooling. I checked the CPU fan and its blowing into the heatsink so thats right. I was reading somehting else and it said that the Temps in the BIOS are more accurate then the onse these programs give out. So I guess everything is good with it.

nick
unicknn is offline  
Old 10-13-2006, 04:51 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 28
Default

OK i just checked my NVIDIA controler and it says my CPU is 38.8C, and the board is at 42.8C. This is closer to what BIOS says. Is that a good temp for things to be?


lmk
nick
unicknn is offline  
Old 10-13-2006, 05:45 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 326
Send a message via AIM to vipercrazed Send a message via Yahoo to vipercrazed
Default

thats very good, very close to mine and i have watercooling

everest mustve been whacked
__________________
bfg tech 7900GT@475 still ll 3200+ venice@2.72, 1.55v ll OCZ 1GB ll WD 320 GB hdd
vipercrazed is offline  
Old 10-13-2006, 05:46 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 28
Default

sweet thanx alot for the help man. I really apreciate it.


Nick
__________________

unicknn is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.