Temp. Probe and Monitor - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-22-2005, 08:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default Temp. Probe and Monitor

Okay so I guess the dual core opterons don't display the right temps on DFI mobos, so I need a temperature monitor right?

What kind do I need, what brand is best? Where do I place it to get the best reading? I need to know all this if I want to know if I am safely overclocking.

The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 12-23-2005, 11:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 61
Send a message via AIM to enGRAVEr
Default DFI Customer Support

My other rig uses a DFI Lanparty Pro MB and I had an issue when I first got it, dealing with temps that is. Customer Support was most helpful in dealing with it. It did take about 1 1/2 weeks I think, been a while. But they released a new bios flash that still did not correct it. Shortly there after they released another flash that did though. Try them.

For sensors, I have found that placing them as close to the base of the heatsink is more acurate, unless you can find a way to get it on the side of the cpu touching the surface directly (caution).

I do not have a lot of experience with the AMD anymore, but if you take the heatsink fan off and look into the middle of the sink there should be a cone of copper there. That is also a good place if you can work it in there, mine was tricky. The temperature is more closely reflected from there (this depends on your heatsink).

Some people with amd's may be able to give better advise, I am just telling you what I have done in the past and got good results.


*VIPER ATX Case; *Gigabyte GA-8N Quad Royal; *P-4 3.73 Ex. Ed.; *2 GB Patriot DDR2 533 Dual CH; *2x BFG GF 6800 GToc (SLI); *(3) SATA 250 GB (1)WD (2) Maxtor; *SeaSonic S-12 600watt; *DL DVD Burner; *54x DVD/CD Rom
Test Scores: AquaMark3 GFX-12003, CPU-11602, Total-79109; *01-25290/*03-20444/*05-8346; SupePI-33 Secs @ 1Mb,*HSF-VapoChill Micro.
enGRAVEr is offline  
Old 12-24-2005, 12:09 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 17

Boy you gotta buy a temperature sensor. Me, we had the same problem. See this, this man went through at least four different sensors for the DC Opteron.

Guy running things finaly hooked this cat up with one that worked. See this, the name is XL for AMD of course. Guy put the split sensor on each between the heatsink and CPU - seen. Me I'm going to post the URL when this man finds it.
Majik is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:16 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.