Is This Temp Normal? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-30-2008, 05:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Central, TX
Posts: 28
Send a message via Yahoo to JustinTime91
Default

Hello, I've recently built my first gaming PC, and I am using an Asus P5Q-E MoBo, and the CPU is an Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300, and today is my first time to ever attempt to overclock, the core runs at 2.5 (stock), and the temp was 34C (idle), and I bumped up the FSB, and now the cores are running at 3.00, and the temp is 38-38.5C (idle), but in my CPU manual, it says to make sure it stays under 38C operating temp. Is that just what they "recommend" to be very safe? Also My fan was 1200rpm's, and since the heat is up, I had to put my fans in turbo mode, which they run at about 1650rpms, is that too high of an rpm? Thanks.

Oops, I forgot, but I also left the CPU Voltage set to auto in the bios, but should I manually set it, or does it still have enough power to run stable, because I did put the Voltage to around 1.4, but the idle temp went up to 42C, and I don't know what's the max temp it should be idled at. Thanks
__________________

JustinTime91 is offline  
Old 09-30-2008, 05:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: australia
Posts: 717
Default

i wouldent expect .5 of adgree to make much of an difrance.but dont take my word for it as im also only new to the whole OC'ing thing.iv also only just goting back into pc gaming iv been mainly into console's for years but now im geting back in to pc's.thing's have changed soo much since the 90's.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JustinTime91 View Post
Oops, I forgot, but I also left the CPU Voltage set to auto in the bios, but should I manually set it, or does it still have enough power to run stable, because I did put the Voltage to around 1.4, but the idle temp went up to 42C, and I don't know what's the max temp it should be idled at. Thanks
whoah id say that's a bit hot for idle.sorry i dont know much when it come's to pc's but i want to learn
__________________

computer newbie is offline  
Old 09-30-2008, 05:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Central, TX
Posts: 28
Send a message via Yahoo to JustinTime91
Default Re: Is This Temp Normal?

Ok, thanks. If anyone else might know, feel free to answer also.
JustinTime91 is offline  
Old 09-30-2008, 05:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: australia
Posts: 717
Default Re: Is This Temp Normal?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JustinTime91 View Post
Ok, thanks. If anyone else might know, feel free to answer also.
im sure someone else will come along that knows more than me LOL
computer newbie is offline  
Old 09-30-2008, 08:33 PM   #5 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Is This Temp Normal?

Get you Vcore off auto, you can usually OC to 3Ghz a stock voltage..
So, in theory you'd have no real temp change...
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 09-30-2008, 11:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: Is This Temp Normal?

another thing you can do is leave them on auto and OC to where you would like. Check for stability and if it passes go into bios and see what the system has set for voltages and try to lower them manually. Check for stability again. Keep doing this until you pass out and/or happy w/ the settings
__________________

__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Temp... Question??? Digital_Jedi System Upgrades 3 09-26-2008 12:32 AM
Temp Specs and altenitive cooling Spend Overclocking and Modding 2 06-02-2008 05:00 PM
what reads e8400 temp right!?!?!? braz Overclocking and Modding 6 02-24-2008 03:59 PM
Normal temp of an "idle" Graphics Card? CPonder14 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 10 08-24-2007 11:54 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.