Taking my graphics card a step further - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-24-2006, 01:02 AM   #1 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Taking my graphics card a step further

okay.. i've tried coolbits overclocking and it can only go so far.. what else is there to do to make it better?? I've got my 7900 gt clocked at 543/1680... i want to try to bump that higher but it won't allow me.. what is there to do, when i quit games its only at 56 degrees celcius, is it overheating?? do i need to cool that down to bring it up, or change the voltage on it?? i saw that 7800gtx getting 9500 on 3dmark05 and i wanna compete with that.. i've only managed a 9081... haha, i love competing... i definitely don't want to raise the voltage though.. so is there anything else i can do? i dont get any artifacting or anything.. so i don't understanding, it just tells me after i test it that i can't do it.
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 04-24-2006, 01:05 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 841
Default

56¬ļC is pretty cool for an overclocked card when gaming. You might want to try to overclock with RivaTuner and see if that let's you raise it higher.
__________________

__________________
NathanM is offline  
Old 04-24-2006, 01:06 AM   #3 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

ah thanks i'll try that right now

okay before i use this.. if i go too high and it stops working, will things reset to default? if not, how would i switch it back?
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 04-24-2006, 05:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 202
Default

Curious that a 7900 GT will only go that high. I used coolbits, clicked on the detect optimal frequencies and my 7800 GTX 512 came back with 576/1740 which it sits at right now. I don't know what the temps are under load but I think its around 48-50. I also have the fan at 100% using Rivatuner.

edit:
I did look up specs on a evga 7900gt Superoverclocked version and it was 550/1580 so maybe you numbers are the max. Just a guess.
bryan64 is offline  
Old 04-24-2006, 06:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 543
Default

do a volt mod on the 7900gt with a conductive pen. i saw a guide of how to do it its really simple/ you just draw a line from one dot to another on the back of your card. try googling it.
__________________
3200+ A64 skt 754
ASUS K8N4-E Deluxe
2x 512mb corsair value
X1800XL 512mb@X1800XT
2x 80g WD SATA
X-FI Platinum
Antec P180b
Running is offline  
Old 04-24-2006, 06:08 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 742
Default

i assume you are talking about my 7800gtx. well what i did was i went into rivatuner and disable the driver level test by going into power user and look for something that says like "driver level test" or something and beside that but a 1 in the box. this will disable it letting you push your card farther.
but dont get stupid and try and push it to like 700/2000 or something but just try and stay under 600 on the core unless your card is ridiculously good at overclocking.
wtk pro l is offline  
Old 04-24-2006, 06:22 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 543
Default

http://forums.anandtech.com/messagev...&enterthread=y

and go mod ur 7900gt now
Running is offline  
Old 04-24-2006, 08:24 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 742
Default

dont try voltmods until youve read up alot, no matter how easy the mod. alot of people screw up their cards by blindly doing that.
wtk pro l is offline  
Old 04-24-2006, 09:03 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 543
Default

even if you do mess up you can clean it up with acetone alcohol or nailpolish remover. and it will return to normal. i don't see the problem
__________________
3200+ A64 skt 754
ASUS K8N4-E Deluxe
2x 512mb corsair value
X1800XL 512mb@X1800XT
2x 80g WD SATA
X-FI Platinum
Antec P180b
Running is offline  
Old 04-24-2006, 09:16 PM   #10 (permalink)
Do work.
 
molsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,177
Send a message via AIM to molsen
Default

well if you draw a conductive line between the wrong points, it may damage the card and no amount of acetone will fix that... :-\
__________________

__________________
http://mattjolsen.tumblr.com
flickr

Intel E8400 @ 3.78ghz
8gb (4x2gb) G.SKILL DDR2 1600 @ 420mhz, 5-5-5-12
ASrock P43Twins1600 (hates RAM dividers)
WD Caviar 500gb + 250gb hdd, 32mb cache
eVGA 7900gs @ 585/1700mhz
OCZ GameXStream 600w PSU
Sound Blaster X-Fi Platinum
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
molsen is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.