The system i will be buying - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-28-2005, 07:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,241
Send a message via AIM to Powerslave
Default The system i will be buying

Ok, i've been waiting, and all i have to do is wait three more months for my dream system, i can't wait argghghghgh i want it, ok here it is
ps: i had a 1200 budget


AMD Athlon 64 3500+ Processor (Venice) Socket 939

DFI LANPARTY UT NF3 250Gb nForce3 250Gb Athlon 64 Skt754 DDR ATX Motherboard w/Audio, Gigabit LAN, Serial ATA


Western Digital Caviar Special Edition WD2000JB 200GB Ultra ATA/100 7200RPM Hard Drive w/8MB Buffer

Corsair CMSS512MBR72-400 512MB DDR400 PC3200 ECC Memory

Asus N6600GT/TD GeForce 6600GT AGP 8X 128MB DDR3 Video Card w/TV-Out & DVI Retail ***Free 2nd Day***

windows xp, + drives, and case = around 1100

Does the mobo support pci express, because if it doesnt i have to choose a different one obviously.
input and feedback would be appriciated!
__________________

Powerslave is offline  
Old 05-28-2005, 07:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 133
Default

nice, whats the big hd for?
most of it is not good choices though

get xp pro
__________________

tylerdrude is offline  
Old 05-28-2005, 08:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

for ur motherboard u should get one with an nforce4 chipset and ur getting a venice core skt 939 and the motherboard (in your post) is a skt 754, this motherboard is also agp 8X. it doesnt support pci express, if it did u would have to change your video card aswell also with the skt 939 dfi boards u can take advantage of the dual channel ddr
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 05-28-2005, 08:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

wow, that's a very bad system for the money

if you want a better one:

AMD64 3200+ Venice (overclocks the same as 3500)
1 gig twinMOS ram (better than corsair XMS crap and much cheaper)
DFI lanparty ultra-d (this is the pci-e board, why the hell are you buying some 754 board???)
eVGA 6800GT pci-e (asus is crap)
NEC 3510A (best dvd-rw drive - and very cheap at $50)
SEAGATE 200GB HDD SATA (seagate much quieter)
OCZ Modstream 520W (you need a power supply..the one that comes with case is crap)
any case you want + winXP home
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 05-28-2005, 08:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 38
Default

Win XP Pro.

I will have to agree that for that price, its not a deal.
I configured a system like that with a gig of ram for about $700-$800
Brently is offline  
Old 05-28-2005, 08:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,241
Send a message via AIM to Powerslave
Default

im a noob, what can i say?
stop flaming me for my innacurate choice in products, your supposed to help me not put me down
btw, how much is that set up diablo II, could you get a price on it for me?
Powerslave is offline  
Old 05-28-2005, 09:00 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 133
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by powerslave12
im a noob, what can i say?
stop flaming me for my innacurate choice in products, your supposed to help me not put me down
btw, how much is that set up diablo II, could you get a price on it for me?
no one has flammed you, calling you names would be flamming


as for the price, go to newegg, copy and paste the specs, add to cart, put your zipcode in, and see the price..
tylerdrude is offline  
Old 05-28-2005, 10:03 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,241
Send a message via AIM to Powerslave
Default

alright.....i think i just misunderstood diablo, sorry bout that
Powerslave is offline  
Old 05-28-2005, 10:10 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

huh?

it r teh truth..not teh flame

Quote:
Win XP Pro.
why would anyone need Pro?? home is already good enough, there's no need for pro

btw, powerslave just go to newegg//zimzoomfly and just right down their prices and see how much it would cost

i'm pretty sure it won't go over your cost unless you buy some expensive case (well if you do, just don't buy those gay cases like asus vento or raidmax samurai)
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 05-28-2005, 10:16 PM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,241
Send a message via AIM to Powerslave
Default

Holy **** bro, all i had to do was downgrade the 6800gt, to a 6600 gt and i can buy this rig for 880$, thanks a ****load
__________________

Powerslave is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.