System Configuration - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-01-2005, 10:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 50
Default System Configuration

I recently made a topic about what I should upgrade first, and basically you guys said EVERYTHING!.... so I decided that I should judt buy a new computer and while looking around I found that the formfactor LAN cases looked cool, so I based this whole projest around that
I NEED YOUR COMMENTS!

My budget is to keep it around $1,000


CASE : X-QPack Aluminum Mini 420Watt Case with 3 See-Thru Windows (Green Color)
CPU : (939-pin) AMD™ ATHLON™64 3500+ CPU w/ Hyper Transport Technology
MOTHERBOARD : (939pin Sckt)MSI RS480M2IL ATI Radeon Xpress200 Chipset SATA PCIE w/Video,LAN,USB2.0,IEEE-1394,&Audio
MEMORY : 2048 MB (512MBx4) PC3200 400MHz Dual Channel DDR MEMORY (Corsair Value RAM)
HARD DRIVE : 80GB 7200 RPM ATA 100 HARD DRIVE
Hard Drive 2 : NONE
VIDEO CARD : NVIDIA Geforce 6600 256MB 16X PCI EXPRESS VIDEO CARD
Optical Drive : NONE
Optical Drive 2 : (Special Price) LG GWA-4161 16X DVD±R/±RW + CD-R/RW DRIVE DUAL LAYER (BLACK COLOR)
MONITOR & LCD : NONE
SOUND : 3D WAVE ON-BOARD 5.1 SOUND CARD
__________________

BAD AI is offline  
Old 06-01-2005, 11:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 133
Default

Dfi Lan party n4, there on sale with amd's now (like 15buck discount)

get a venice core

Get non value ram

well thats if your over clocking

Definitly get a 6600gt.. the 2gigs isnt worth having with a plain 6600
__________________

tylerdrude is offline  
Old 06-01-2005, 11:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 304
Send a message via AIM to truebe
Default

6600 = no, 6600GT = mmm good
DFI board
You dont need 2 gigs of memory. Dont get Value Ram...
Venice Core
__________________
Gigabyte EP-45 DS3R
e7200 @ 3.2
G.skill 4GB
Gigabyte 4850
Corsair VX 550
truebe is offline  
Old 06-02-2005, 12:04 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 821
Default

Might as well say it just as everyone else has... Venice core. Also, if you've got money left to spend, might as well upgrade to the 6800GT. Or, if you are patient, you can wait until the G70s come out and the price on the other cards will drop.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ socket 939 @ 2.3 GHz
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum motherboard
EVGA GeForce 6800 GT
2 GB DDR 400 (PC 3200) (2 x 1 GB sticks) (Dual Channel)
DVD player and seperate DVD RW drive
Floppy Drive
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive
500 watt power supply
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech 5.1 surround sound speakers
SAMSUNG SyncMaster 710T LCD monitor
Aspire X Navigator Case
Wayniac is offline  
Old 06-02-2005, 12:22 AM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by tylerdrude
Dfi Lan party n4, there on sale with amd's now (like 15buck discount)

get a venice core

Get non value ram

well thats if your over clocking

Definitly get a 6600gt.. the 2gigs isnt worth having with a plain 6600
you have no idea what you're talking about

value ram works fine if you're not OCing

a venice core would be nice, but not necessary

a 6600gt is necessary, since the vanilla 6600 sucks; there's no such thing as more memory giving advantages to better video cards
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 06-02-2005, 07:30 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 133
Send a message via AIM to Augsy
Default

yea scrap the 2 gigs of ram.
__________________
My LeEt CoMp
Asus A8N-SLI
AMD Athlon 3500+ venice
Enermax 535 watt PS
2 x 512mb OCZ premier series
XFX 6800 GT (1100/400)
WD Sata II 250 GB HD w/16mb cache
Lite-on 1693S DVD-RW
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
windows xp pro
Augsy is offline  
Old 06-02-2005, 07:57 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 133
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by diabloII
you have no idea what you're talking about

value ram works fine if you're not OCing

a venice core would be nice, but not necessary

a 6600gt is necessary, since the vanilla 6600 sucks; there's no such thing as more memory giving advantages to better video cards

Whats that you cant read?


i said get that if your are OVER CLOCKING

and i also said id be better to have less system memory and a better vid card..

read
tylerdrude is offline  
Old 06-02-2005, 08:55 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 50
Default

The case requires a Standard Micro ATX or Baby AT. Will the motherboard you guys are talking about compatible
BAD AI is offline  
Old 06-02-2005, 08:59 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 50
Default

I don't know how to edit, so here's the link.
http://www.pctoys.com/xqpack.html

now I see it =D
__________________

BAD AI is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.