Swapping hardware - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-02-2005, 06:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3
Exclamation Swapping hardware

I have recently acquired a pretty good deal on a 3GHz HT, 512 Dual SDD RAM PC, but there's one setback: Integrated graphics. I can't insert a "decent" graphics card into the motherboard, seeing as the slots are uncompatible. I've been wondering if it would be possible to keep all of the hardware intact, and only swap out motherboards from my older PC, which ironically, has a GeForce FX 5200.

Please help me out on this one guys, I want my good graphics back!!!
__________________

Clum-Z-Boy is offline  
Old 02-02-2005, 06:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Are you saying the board does not have an AGP or PCI-E slot? That seems hard to beleive
__________________

__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 02-02-2005, 06:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3
Default

It's true. I can only insert Sound cards, Graphic-card uncompatible
Clum-Z-Boy is offline  
Old 02-02-2005, 07:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Most likely your older pc's mobo has a different cpu socket. Do you know what the sockets are on both the boards. The new one with the p4 would be either 478 or 775. You could buy a cheap mobo with an agp slot for $50.
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 02-02-2005, 07:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3
Default

Alright, I'll check that out, thanks!
Clum-Z-Boy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.