***Super Pi Rankings ** - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-19-2005, 02:39 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 23
Default

yeah dunno if its good or not







put wrong picture up first time
__________________

dudedrew18 is offline  
Old 06-19-2005, 04:23 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 414
Default

Come on guys you can do much better than that.

Heres mine


Its a Slow time to me.
__________________

__________________
<center>

<a href=\'http://fusion.vault9.net/inbound.php?user=Neosteve\' title=\'Get Fused!\'>
<img src=\'http://fusion.vault9.net/code/468x60.jpg\' alt=\'\' style=\"border:0;\" /></a>
</center>
neosteve is offline  
Old 06-19-2005, 06:28 PM   #13 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
Come on guys you can do much better than that.
lol this aint xtremesystems man.....there is a lot of young kids and people who are fresh at overclocking, and don't have endless pockets to buy a couple cards, plus a few processors and dry ice em up to find a good OC'ing one out of the bunch.

And things like this:

Quote:
Its a Slow time to me.
just makes you sound conceited......there MIGHT be a couple people here who can get it in low to mid 30's, but bragging about 29 seconds being 'a slow time' isnt going to motivate anyone to post...makes it sound as if you're wanting to see how badly you beat everyone
Nubius is offline  
Old 06-19-2005, 06:45 PM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 414
Default

I understand that its not extreme systems but im sure if they put more into it they can get much better results. Just look I did that on air no need for DI. So im sure that plenty more can also achieve a very good score.

Ya I admit I was bragging but I was being a bit sarcastic there that’s. My best is only 2 seconds faster or so. So its actually a fast time if I consider it to be honest.

Heres something to help you all out to get a better score.
Quote:
SuperPI tweaks

These are tweaks collected by D_o_S on xtremesystems.

note: these tips are for superpi only. some may work well for some benchmarks but may hurt your scores in others. pedro rocha's tweak (best results on A64 + win2000, other combinations may work well too but may also fux up stabillity and therefor your overclock, thus doing your score more bad then good.) is an excellent exampe for this. it will boost your 3dmark2001 score by quite a bit but it will have a negative effect on your pifast score.

(from macci) sometimes you'll get better results with the japanese version of superpi then with the english version but for instance with P-M's (dothan's) it's the other way around.

I don't really know wich OS is better for 1M calculation yet, some say win2k3 server (what sp, I don't know, I'm guessing SP4) although I suspect that for A64 any 64bit OS will be better. also someone mentioned win XP SP 2 is faster then Win2k3 server...

use winXP (pro I suppose) SP1 for 8M, do not!! use win2k3 server.

(from Tom Holck) for 32M, in order of efficience : amd 64 bit, XP64, win2003 32 bit sp4, win xp, win 2000

(from CodeRed) win2003 64 bit is fastest

(from CodeRed) A64tweaker settings for BH-5:
2-7-12-2-2-5-2-2-1-1
Max async latency = 6ns
Read preamble = 5ns
Read Write Queue Bypass = 16x
Bypass Max = 7x
Dynamic Idle Cycle Counter = enabled/16 clocks

(from Hilppa) run --> msconfig --> diagnostic boot mode

This will shut down lot's of services and give you a nice boost

(from Hilppa) Remember to run superpi.exe in Real time mode (from task manager) and turn off explorer.exe and userinit.exe during the run. You can run explorer.exe after the run from task manager. (typically C:\windows\explorer.exe I think)

running superpi in realtime doesn't give me a noticeable gain on Axp or P4.

Some people experienced worse scores from killing explorer.exe and minimizing superpi.

set page file to 0. this didn't help me mutch but I didn't' time it with process timer so it might help a few milli seconds.

I use blackviper's registry patch instead of diagnostic mode... disables a lot of services mostly and adds some other tweaks like the no page file tweak...

if you use page file, delete, defrag and set again.

clean install is best offcourse and defrag right away after installtion aswell best to use a 3rd party defrag tool. most will do a much better job at it then the windows defragger.

Ramdisk tools:MAXMEM is often used. I haven't tried it myself though. afaik, it's slightly better then the boot.ini maxmem tweak but it's not compatible with it.
(from Gautam) there's also RAMdisk

(so the boot.ini maxmem tweak (doesn't always help and slows your system down): look in the advanced options of boot.ini, there is "MAXMEM"

in the boot.ini after /fastdetect add /maxmem=104 (or 105)

for example : multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Windows Server 2003" /fastdetect /maxmem=104

if the option isn't available through msconfig then the boot.ini will do the trick.

link : http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums...tid=21045&stc=1

for the cpu, high mhz is more important then high fsb in dispite of the fact that high fsb is faster in most applications.

for the memory, tight timings are more important then high bandwith, offcourse there are limits to this and you'll have to find a good compromis. Dual channel is also a major plus.

when you get an error, the first time it'll most of the time be "not exact in round" but if you run superpi a seccond time it will give you "not convergent in SQR". Deleting all the files in the superpi folder except the .exe and .txt files will rid you of this error message. Offcourse, if you're overclock is completely unstable you'll just get the errors again, but if you're on the edge where shear luck is the only factor that plays a role between a succesfull and a bad run, this can help.
__________________
<center>

<a href=\'http://fusion.vault9.net/inbound.php?user=Neosteve\' title=\'Get Fused!\'>
<img src=\'http://fusion.vault9.net/code/468x60.jpg\' alt=\'\' style=\"border:0;\" /></a>
</center>
neosteve is offline  
Old 06-19-2005, 07:05 PM   #15 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,277
Default

or some fo us like our computers the way they are adn dont care about a # that something says
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 06-19-2005, 07:31 PM   #16 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

I'll get a time up when the 3200+ gets tricked out, which could be a while depending on the availibility of a maze4 and getting a core that actually works. I'd have to get it up to 3000Mhz or so to match the 4000+ claw up there.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 06-19-2005, 09:03 PM   #17 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Whew, those are some insane tips to squeeze out every last little second....honestly I'm too lazy to do most of that I just make sure theres nothing like an IM or download going on a fresh boot up and run it....I had AIM going and got like 49 seconds, and then when I shut that and avant down I got 43seconds (stock 3200+ venice, 1gb Patriot XBL PC3200) so I'm sure if I did all those things that it suggests it MIGHT get into the high 30's

If I can get this thing up to 2.8GHz and my RAM running 275Mhz I might have a shot at low 30's....of course I'm not a veteran of superPI honestly so who knows, my guess could be way off
Nubius is offline  
Old 06-19-2005, 09:15 PM   #18 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,277
Default

oh i didnt know you needed to not have things running when you did this lol. i had like 2 programs running in the background lol. all well its all good cause im happy w/ what i got if nubius is getting 43 on his 64bit. not to shabby
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 06-19-2005, 09:44 PM   #19 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

Can you guys PLEASE just post the link and not the link with the image tags?
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 06-19-2005, 10:19 PM   #20 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

doubt that'll happen....suppose he shoulda put ***56k warning*** up on there
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.