***Super Pi Rankings ** - Page 19 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-26-2005, 03:49 PM   #181 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 131
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Flanker
Yea but why would my 32m time be so bad when my 1m time is a pretty good 34secs? Before I overclocked, the 1m time was 41 secs, and the 32m time was 45m...
is your ram running at the same speed as your CPU? Ram plays a big factor in super pi. Because i know even only at 3.4ghz on ym cpu, i get 29 minutes and i sure once i do it at full speed i will get around 27-28 minutes, so i don't see why yours is so much higher.
__________________

__________________
P4 2.8E @ 3.5Ghz(24/7),3.72Ghz (benchmarking) 1:1
Abit IC7 Max 3
2 X 512mb OCZ PC 3700 dual channel Performance series ram
EVGA 6800GT @ 440mhz/1.2Ghz(24/7), 451/1.23Ghz (max benchable)
2X80 gig SATA RAID 0 drives
SB Audigy 2 24bit
Black X-Blade Gaming Case
Enermax 460 watt PSU
CPU Cooled By: Thermalright Xp 90 + 92 mm panaflo fan
GPU Cooled By: Arctic Cooling Nv Silencer 5 Rev. 2
_OvErClOcKeD_ is offline  
Old 09-26-2005, 04:12 PM   #182 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

is 36 seconds good on the 1MB thingy?
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 09-26-2005, 04:13 PM   #183 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 131
Default

yea it aint bad, you have a venice core? if so maybe it could be a tad faster, also whats your ram running at?
__________________
P4 2.8E @ 3.5Ghz(24/7),3.72Ghz (benchmarking) 1:1
Abit IC7 Max 3
2 X 512mb OCZ PC 3700 dual channel Performance series ram
EVGA 6800GT @ 440mhz/1.2Ghz(24/7), 451/1.23Ghz (max benchable)
2X80 gig SATA RAID 0 drives
SB Audigy 2 24bit
Black X-Blade Gaming Case
Enermax 460 watt PSU
CPU Cooled By: Thermalright Xp 90 + 92 mm panaflo fan
GPU Cooled By: Arctic Cooling Nv Silencer 5 Rev. 2
_OvErClOcKeD_ is offline  
Old 09-26-2005, 04:16 PM   #184 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

it is a venice core, and the ram is running at 2.5-2-2-8 at 230mhz
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 09-26-2005, 04:20 PM   #185 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by _OvErClOcKeD_
i going to give you people a little lesson since you haven't figured this out yet, its not a prescot, patch its a patch that uses the SSE3 instructions, just like with the newer AMD's, they have SSE3 also and the patch uses their SSE3 potential. If your hating on people for using the full potential of their processors, then this is a sad thread anyways lol. How is it an accurate readin of how fast the CPU's actually are if your taking away their full potential? Should not be my probelm that some processors dont come with SSE3 instructions. Should i just disable some of my processors potential to make you feel better?
Yeah, I know the patch man. But you miss the point. A benchmark only needs to be comparable, and you using that version makes it not comparable to others scores. If they made an anit-cheat version of the SSE3, patch then great, we could all use it, but they don't. So for the purposes of a meaningfull benchmark, everyone should be using the Mod 1.4 version.
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 09-26-2005, 04:27 PM   #186 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by _OvErClOcKeD_
is your ram running at the same speed as your CPU? Ram plays a big factor in super pi. Because i know even only at 3.4ghz on ym cpu, i get 29 minutes and i sure once i do it at full speed i will get around 27-28 minutes, so i don't see why yours is so much higher.
If you looked at my SuperPi 1m screenshot, you'd see that my memory is running at 208 Mhz 2.5-3-3-8 timings. The point isn't the bad score, its that my 1M score is better than most while the 32m score is worse than most.

Quote:
Originally posted by PZEROFGH
is 36 seconds good on the 1MB thingy?
Yea, its pretty good, but you should have gotten a lower time than me. We have the same CPU, but yours is running .1Ghz faster and your memory is much faster with slightly better timings. IMO, you should've gotten in the very low 30s.
Flanker is offline  
Old 09-26-2005, 04:30 PM   #187 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 131
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by idiotec
Yeah, I know the patch man. But you miss the point. A benchmark only needs to be comparable, and you using that version makes it not comparable to others scores. If they made an anit-cheat version of the SSE3, patch then great, we could all use it, but they don't. So for the purposes of a meaningfull benchmark, everyone should be using the Mod 1.4 version.
So then have everyone get the ORIGINAL version of super pi, put in the patch and run it, then it supports all processors, i don't see why i should have to slow down my score because you guys don't think its fair that i want to use my processors full potential. Many AMD's would benefit from that patch also because it uses their SSE3 instructions also, thats why i don't see why its called a prescott patch when it works for AMD's also.
__________________
P4 2.8E @ 3.5Ghz(24/7),3.72Ghz (benchmarking) 1:1
Abit IC7 Max 3
2 X 512mb OCZ PC 3700 dual channel Performance series ram
EVGA 6800GT @ 440mhz/1.2Ghz(24/7), 451/1.23Ghz (max benchable)
2X80 gig SATA RAID 0 drives
SB Audigy 2 24bit
Black X-Blade Gaming Case
Enermax 460 watt PSU
CPU Cooled By: Thermalright Xp 90 + 92 mm panaflo fan
GPU Cooled By: Arctic Cooling Nv Silencer 5 Rev. 2
_OvErClOcKeD_ is offline  
Old 09-26-2005, 04:31 PM   #188 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

would it be better for a cpu like at 2.6 with a memory divider, or a cpu at like 2.3 with a full 1:1 ratio?
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 09-26-2005, 04:32 PM   #189 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 131
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Flanker
If you looked at my SuperPi 1m screenshot, you'd see that my memory is running at 208 Mhz 2.5-3-3-8 timings. The point isn't the bad score, its that my 1M score is better than most while the 32m score is worse than most.



Yea, its pretty good, but you should have gotten a lower time than me. We have the same CPU, but yours is running .1Ghz faster and your memory is much faster with slightly better timings. IMO, you should've gotten in the very low 30s.
Even still, who the hells cuts off over a minute on their Super Pi 1M from overclocking? something in your system is not runnin right, you should not gain that much just from overclocking. I can see cutting off a minute or two on the 32M but a 1M run should NOT be cut in half from overclocking, and its not even some extreme overclock so that makes no sense..
__________________
P4 2.8E @ 3.5Ghz(24/7),3.72Ghz (benchmarking) 1:1
Abit IC7 Max 3
2 X 512mb OCZ PC 3700 dual channel Performance series ram
EVGA 6800GT @ 440mhz/1.2Ghz(24/7), 451/1.23Ghz (max benchable)
2X80 gig SATA RAID 0 drives
SB Audigy 2 24bit
Black X-Blade Gaming Case
Enermax 460 watt PSU
CPU Cooled By: Thermalright Xp 90 + 92 mm panaflo fan
GPU Cooled By: Arctic Cooling Nv Silencer 5 Rev. 2
_OvErClOcKeD_ is offline  
Old 09-26-2005, 04:35 PM   #190 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 131
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by PZEROFGH
would it be better for a cpu like at 2.6 with a memory divider, or a cpu at like 2.3 with a full 1:1 ratio?
Having the ram run the same as the cpu bus or faster is usually better for gaming. but its hard to say, i would think 2.3Ghz 1:1 is better since 2.6 is much faster of a cpu speed when your lacking ram speed.
__________________

__________________
P4 2.8E @ 3.5Ghz(24/7),3.72Ghz (benchmarking) 1:1
Abit IC7 Max 3
2 X 512mb OCZ PC 3700 dual channel Performance series ram
EVGA 6800GT @ 440mhz/1.2Ghz(24/7), 451/1.23Ghz (max benchable)
2X80 gig SATA RAID 0 drives
SB Audigy 2 24bit
Black X-Blade Gaming Case
Enermax 460 watt PSU
CPU Cooled By: Thermalright Xp 90 + 92 mm panaflo fan
GPU Cooled By: Arctic Cooling Nv Silencer 5 Rev. 2
_OvErClOcKeD_ is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.