Suggestions for Video Editing Rig - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-25-2005, 12:42 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 61
Default Suggestions for Video Editing Rig

It's been almost 2 weeks since I built my friend's $500 PC and we haven't experienced a single problem. Now that all my friends actually know that I can build a computer, I now have another friend asking me to build him one as well.

This time though, the budget is slightly higher: $800-$1000. Also, this isn't a general use/purpose rig. My buddy is majoring in Graphic Animation, or something like that, and he needs rig that's up to the rigors of video editing/animation.

I'm not asking anyone to part out a pc for me. I just need a few suggestions like:

1) Which CPU is better for video editing/animation AMD or Intel?
(I realize that this calls for opinion, so maybe you could post a link to a review backing up your claim. Not necessary, but appreciated.)

2) Which GPUs are better for this kind of work?
(My assumption would be that a high end card is needed, is that true?)

3) How much RAM and HDD space does he need?
(He stated that he wanted at least 2GB of RAM and a 120GB HDD, and unless someone who has a lot of experience or compelling evidence showing otherwise, that's what I'll get.

Any other suggestions are certainly welcome.

P.S. The friend I built the $500 pc for really likes his new rig. I couldn't have done it without the help and suggestions of you guys here on TF. I just wanted to say thanks for all the help.

BUM+ Certified
g-unit is offline  
Old 04-25-2005, 12:59 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220

go intel, get 2 gigs of ddr2 ram with a ddr2 intel mobo, 2 SATA hdd's in RAID0, and probably a workstation gfx card


I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 04-25-2005, 02:54 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 284

ok, You wanna get an Intel P4, it owuld be better if you got 64bit, and you want some regualr ddr1 ram like 1.5gigs is enough for now, and then any video card, it has no role in video editing, and at least a 160gb hdd, nothing less, my bro and me do video editing and we need more space, currently at 250gb
comrad is offline  
Old 04-25-2005, 04:01 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
uzi9mm's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553

Ok here are some small suggestions not too specific.

Ok get an intel p4 "prescott" 3.4ghz or higher*(32-bit CPU will do fine)
1-2gb of PC-3200 or any speed of DDR2(make sure that the bus will take advantage of the ram)
WD raptors
A nice firewire card.
you really dont need a high end card for video editing.
If he is going to do really complex editing, try to get an MPEG decoder.
Editing keyboard and shuttle/jog dials
Maybe a DV deck??????? (very expensive)

Also I use adobe premiere pro 1.5 alot, and I know FIRST HAND that you want fast HD's in a raid config. Probably 2x 74gb WD raptor 10,000rpm

Also you might want a 120gb SATA HD for just video archiving. But keep it seperate from the raid.
INTEL i7 930
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 04-25-2005, 06:09 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
aj2003's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,094

yea i think every1 will agree on a P4 for video editting tbh. you want at least a 3.4gig one, alot of fast ram i would agree with the 2gig cos puttin big video files on it fills it up v quickly. i would say ur HDDs are one of if not the most important part. wat i would do would be, one 36gig raptor for the OS and the mainly used programs then at least 3 if not 4 120gig SATA seagates in Raid0 for storin and readin from.
AMD x2 5000+ black edition at 3.3GHZ zalman cnps 9700-NT
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 motherboard
3072mb: OCZ ddr800 gold
2x 7800GTX in SLI for 20" viewsonic
OCZ 600watt power supply - plug for my gfs site
aj2003 is offline  
Old 04-25-2005, 06:54 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS

Yeah Intel is better at video, period.
However I would still get a 64bit CPU, since video programs are migrating to 64 shortly.

A video card is not that important for you, a professional video card meant for video editing and CAD are the Nvidia Quadro and the ATI FIRE GL
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 04-25-2005, 09:05 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 670

but they cost HEAPS, so its not really worth the money. yeh P4, but you dont need DDR2, its not better than DDR1. and DDR1 is a bit cheaper generally i think. 2gig would be ok, but you dont need it to be really expensive performance ram, you could get Kingston HyperX, its good, and damn cheap for its performance. video card is negligable... just needs to be able to display colour so an old MX440 would be ok, just make sure your friend doesnt want to play games at all. (i realise its a video editing computer, but games always make their way onto every computer, no matter what its origional purpose was, unless its a mac .)

hdd's are important, go for something like 2x200Gb for storage, and 2x74gb raptors in RAID 0 for OS/Programs.
<img src=\"\">
Raekwon is offline  
Old 04-25-2005, 09:17 AM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088

I agree with DJ, your friends going to be better off with a 64Bit processor. My best friend attends college for Visual Communications. Which is pretty much the same crap. He runs photoshop and dreamweaver 24/7 along with various other programs.. Right now hes working on this high tech 3D website. Hes only on a 3.0ghz Northwood. He's always using 100% of his cpu and 1GB RAM.

Those kind of applications take alot of your system. I suggest a 3.2ghz/3.4ghz 64bit Intel. But most of all, some really good RAM. For that computer, it needs a nice cpu, but fast RAM.

I suggest OCZ RAM.
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 04-25-2005, 09:31 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 670

personally i recon if you're going to do 64bit, its probably worth getting an AMD, im saying this completely unbiasedly, the Intel emulation of 64bit is poor compared the the proper 64bit from AMD. so the advantage that Intel has in the video editing area is negated by its poor performance in 64bit.

just my thoughts, but of course, in 32bit, for video editing, Intel all the way.
<img src=\"\">
Raekwon is offline  
Old 04-25-2005, 12:12 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088

I havent heard anything wrong with Intels 64Bits. Im not claiming there is nor isent. But i dont see it being very plausible.

Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:12 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.