Suggested motherboard/cpu - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-10-2005, 03:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1
Default Suggested motherboard/cpu

I need some recommendations regarding motherboards, processors and suppliers. I have a tower that contains a 300 watt power supply and I'd like to replace my current motherboard and cpu. I have a problem with either the motherboard or the CPU. I started having problems 2 weeks ago with system hangs and now it will not even boot. I've got a couple of systems and have swapped everything; memory, disks, cables; and it still won't boot. I've replaced the battery and tried a PCI disk controller. The only thing left (I think) are the motherboard and CPU. It currently houses a K7VMM+ mobo and an AMD Athlon XP 2000+. I already have a 512mb SDRAM stick that I'd like to reuse along with an AGP video card. This system is primarily used for business apps and some photoshop work.

1. Recommended Suppliers
2. Suggested mobo / processor combinations


jhawkins is offline  
Old 01-10-2005, 04:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Nubius's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600

Well 300w PSU really isn't enough. Most people will recommend a decent Socket 939 motherboard and CPU which totalled up will cost around $300 for those two items, possibly a little less.

But without a better PSU I wouldn't be surprised if you had the same problems.

I'd suggest looking into a 350-400w with stronger rails, mainly the +12v to ensure the CPU, fans, and other major components get plenty of power.

This is especially true if you've put the components into another computer and they work fine. You could always swap out the mobos to truly find out if that is your problem, but obviously that'd be somewhat of a pain in the butt.

MSI Neo2-Platinum

ABit AV8-3rd Eye

are both good Socket A boards, BUT many will argue that you should go the PCI-E route, but since you'd like to reuse your AGP video card and you're doing business apps there's really no need to.

AMD64 3200-3500+ should be adequate for your CPU needs.

Nubius is offline  
Old 01-10-2005, 07:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 296

a recommended supplier would be they have always come through for me. fast shipping and amazing prices. i have spent close to $900 there and it was worth every penny.

AMD Athlon 64 3200+ \"Venice\"
ASRock 939Dual-SATA2
2GB OCZ Platinum DDR400
eVGA 256mb 6800GT
ANTEC 430watt TruePower 2.0
WD 160GB 8MB cache HDD
NEC 16x Dual Layer DVD+/-RW
xteam02001 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:39 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.