Stupid question - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-23-2005, 09:22 PM   #21 (permalink)
Beer
 
Calzinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 565
Send a message via AIM to Calzinger
Default

Bah, you'll hardly get any good OC on a Celeron. Given it's lousy stock power, an OC would probably be useless.
__________________

__________________
Calzinger is offline  
Old 07-23-2005, 10:47 PM   #22 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 160
Default

I know it would be useless, I just wanted to see if I could overclock it, so when I get my new computer I can overclock that.

But anyway, does Cyber Power put locks on overclocking?
__________________

__________________
Horn if you\'re a honkey
Qwert is offline  
Old 07-24-2005, 12:00 AM   #23 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,107
Send a message via AIM to Counter-Strike
Default

Well, another reason to build your own. Check what motherboard comes w/ it, and post it on here. You want a MoBo w/ good OC options in BIOS. And btw, to overclock .5Ghz, you're gonna need some damn good cooling.
__________________
<img src=\"http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/5743/sig9cd1.gif\" border=\"0\">
Check out www.advancedgeeks.com Great new forum!
Counter-Strike is offline  
Old 07-24-2005, 12:02 AM   #24 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

if ur neighboor bought the pc from compaq you won't be able to overclock at all, its an oem motherboard (original equipment manufacturer), they lock everything in the bios becuase the computer is usually under waranty and if they didnt lock it you would be able to overclock and risk frying ur cpu, then the company (in this case compaq) would have to supply you with a new cpu.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 07-24-2005, 12:35 AM   #25 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 160
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Counter-Strike
Well, another reason to build your own. Check what motherboard comes w/ it, and post it on here. You want a MoBo w/ good OC options in BIOS. And btw, to overclock .5Ghz, you're gonna need some damn good cooling.
Okay, well how well can it overclock with just the standard cooling (the 4400+) if you know? Surely it can go up somewhat.

Also please, does Cyber Power Systems lock the clock speeds at defult?
__________________
Horn if you\'re a honkey
Qwert is offline  
Old 07-24-2005, 12:44 AM   #26 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,107
Send a message via AIM to Counter-Strike
Default

Honestly, I have never heard of Cyber Power Systems. I doubt they have many OC options, if at all. Better off building one. If you do decide to get one, you can overclock by 200mhz or so. Just watch temps and voltage.
__________________
<img src=\"http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/5743/sig9cd1.gif\" border=\"0\">
Check out www.advancedgeeks.com Great new forum!
Counter-Strike is offline  
Old 07-24-2005, 07:52 PM   #27 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

i agree with counter strike
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.