stumped in Michigan - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-14-2004, 12:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 35
Send a message via AIM to Booyah
Default stumped in Michigan

Specs: AMD 64 3000+, Gigabyte GA-K8NS, 1.024 GB Samsung DDR 400, Geforce FX 5500, 420w PSU, Windows XP Pro SP2.

When system idles it SOMETIMES crashes. only sometimes not everytime. it could sit for days and be fine, or u could go to the bathroom and come back it would have rebooted.

Also

sometimes when i install programs it crashes. again, not everytime. it may crash while installing a program only to reboot and you try again and it wont crash.

now then, lets talk about items i have replaced. CPU, MB, RAM, HD, OS, PSU, VC, and IDE cables.

i dont feel its a heat issue or it would crash while gaming as well.
not to mention i check pc health status upon reboot after crash and cpu is in the upper 20's to low 30's.

could this possibly be my case?? as its the only thing i havent replaced.

Ive cleared CMOS via jumper and battery removal too.

Ive flashed to latest version of BIOS.

also, RAM and VC are fully seated, as is all power and IDE Cables.

the case is original and so are the CD-ROM and floppy drives. thats all that is left. this system ran fine with no issues for 45 days then this all started. any ideas?

any help offered is appreciated, im stumped. (not to mention broke)
__________________

Booyah is offline  
Old 12-14-2004, 12:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 595
Send a message via AIM to Roshi229 Send a message via Yahoo to Roshi229
Default

wow, sounds like a software issue to me... what os?
__________________

__________________
http://www.kbdigisol.com

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search first, ask later!\"></form>
powered by emily .
Roshi229 is offline  
Old 12-14-2004, 12:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 35
Send a message via AIM to Booyah
Default

windows xp pro sp2
Booyah is offline  
Old 12-14-2004, 12:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 595
Send a message via AIM to Roshi229 Send a message via Yahoo to Roshi229
Default

i'm not sure how well you know software but try this... hope it helps.
if you don't know the registry, i would recomend using something like registry mechanic rather than going in yourself (remember always back up the registry before makeing any changes!!!)
http://www.pctools.com/registry-mechanic/

and i would run an adware scan... something like Lavasoft's Ad-Aware SE Personal
http://www.lavasoftusa.com/software/adaware/

try running a memory test
http://hcidesign.com/memtest/

this is a microsoft reporting tool... it gathers a lot of information and creats a cab file containing txt documents, pick through these... it may point out a problem... or help you to narow it down
http://download.microsoft.com/downl...T_SETUPPerf.EXE
__________________
http://www.kbdigisol.com

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search first, ask later!\"></form>
powered by emily .
Roshi229 is offline  
Old 12-15-2004, 11:33 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 595
Send a message via AIM to Roshi229 Send a message via Yahoo to Roshi229
Default

any updates? what happened... did it work!?
__________________
http://www.kbdigisol.com

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search first, ask later!\"></form>
powered by emily .
Roshi229 is offline  
Old 12-15-2004, 11:55 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 15
Default

Well to me it might sound like a hardware problem with the randomness of it all. Usually if it's software it'll crash when trying to do certain things everytime. At least this is my experience. You might wanna try to re-install windows. Hope you back-up.
My Tea Mouse is offline  
Old 12-15-2004, 02:24 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 35
Send a message via AIM to Booyah
Default

it turns out that all my motherboard drivers were not installed. i installed remaining drivers and i thought that fixed the problem. seemed to run ok for 24 hours however, i just got home from work and at some point between last nite and 2:15pm today, it rebooted.
__________________

Booyah is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.