Stress Test - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-03-2005, 10:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Stress Test

Does anyone know of a program that could Stress Test my system?
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 03-03-2005, 10:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Doom3

3dmark05

prime95
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 03-03-2005, 10:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

You know i could never play doom 3, and im on dial up so im not getting 3dmark05, hmmm how big of a file is prime95? and can you link it to me, my lord? lol
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 03-03-2005, 11:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 227
Default

Prime95 is a pretty small download, I think 5 to 7 megs.

Go Here.

www.mersenne.org/freesoft.htm
ImUseless is offline  
Old 03-03-2005, 11:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

Hmm Im starting to freak... CPU is at 122F with the program running for maybe 10 min.... Wonder how long it can go lol


Damn only 16 min.... Wonder if its my crappy *** ram.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 03-04-2005, 12:46 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 286
Default

hahaha funny nubius =D speaking of stress test.. well not really...i heard new comps have to have a "burn in" period? care to explain what that is?

try Prime95 and run it for a couple of days. Also lets you know if ur comp is stable
__________________
foreverxyoung is offline  
Old 03-04-2005, 02:04 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
i heard new comps have to have a "burn in" period? care to explain what that is?
They dont HAVE to, but if you're planning on OC'ing it's a good idea. Simple thermodynamics The transistors warm up and expand which may allow them to OC further if you give them a week or so to warm up to the heat and whatnot. It's sometimes possibly to get better OC's than if you tried to OC it right out the box
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-04-2005, 04:04 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

I waited a full month before i bothered to OC my system and you see the results, just need better ram caz i fail that test with in 16 min.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 03-04-2005, 04:13 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Some hardware just won't overclock. If you bought really good RAM, then you should be okay. If you bought the ultra cheapo stuff, then you've got little sticks of death.

As for benchmarks, 3Dmark is great for gaming tests and I would definately suggest you figure out a way to get it to your PC. If you can't find a fast connection to download the demo to a thumb drive or something, send them an email and they'll mail you a copy on CD.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 03-04-2005, 04:28 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

You have to pay for that copy and i dont have money. And yes my ram is cheap **** :-p
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.