Strange overclocking results - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-28-2007, 06:58 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1
Default Strange overclocking results

I am currently running an AMD Athlon 64 3200+ with an Asus A8N-SLI motherboard. The default speed is 2.0 GHz (200 clock frequency with a x10 multiplier). I wanted to play around with overclocking so i gradually increased my clock frequency. I started with 205, then went up to 220, then up to 240. I saw basically no improvement over these 3 increases. In addition, my CPU temperature basically was the same(38C), so i decided to up it more. I put it up to 260, and then the computer would not boot, it would get to the end of POST, then restart, so i lowered it to 250. At 250, my computer was quite noticeably slower. What am I doing wrong here? Overclocking is supposed to make a computer faster, not slower! Please help.
__________________

metsfan is offline  
Old 02-28-2007, 08:12 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

sounds like the thermal throttling kicked in and slowed down your cpu. you need good cooling to get a decent overclock. how can you be sure there was no performance increase? did you do any performance based testing?
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 02-28-2007, 11:53 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Work, Meh... I'd rather be fishing : )
Posts: 55
Default

i had a venice 3500+ that went straight up to 2.4ghz by increasing the fsb to around 220. and then up to 2.6 and on...

are you using any monitoring software or just judging by the p.c performance/speed?

use cpu-z for real-time display of the frequency then find a cpu benchmark tool, a heavy load program and judge the improvement, run it standard, then o'c'd and look for gains

just look for freeware prog's.

once you get up to 230ish... take it slow, test and test again.

look for the max setting you can safely re-boot/launch/test/strain the o/s and then back it off a little.

just learning myself so hope this helps...?
__________________
Termaltake Tsunami dream
Coolermaster aero3 fan controler
Acousti-fan's all round
2 Gig Corsair XL Pro 2.2.2.5
Asus A8N-32SLi Deluxe
AMD Opty 152 Venus (3.1Ghz, air)
Evo 120 Cpu Cooler
Pair of Raptors in RAID 0
XFX 7950 GX2 570mhz/1.5mhz (shweeet)
Saitek eclipse gaming k/board
Razer copperhead special edition s.k
Icemat
Del 20" widescreen 2005

life's good.
smiley73 is offline  
Old 02-28-2007, 05:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default

you may have to adjust your RAM timings or put it on a divider. When you overclock the FSB you put up the speed of the ram to your FSB. So, my FSB is at 300, so on a 1:1 (FSBRAM) my ram would be running at 300MHz. Run Memtest #5, after 25 passes it's considered stable enough. You also have to lower your HT multiplier to 3x because as you add more MHz to the fsb you put the HT link higher.
__________________
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.