Strange 3DMarks - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-01-2005, 03:00 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 378
Default Strange 3DMarks

A few days ago I OC'd my 6800 (see sig) and as I raised the core, my '05 scores got higher and higher (obviously) until they finally broke 4000 (which was my goal, anyway) at around 375MHz for the core. When I tried to raise the memory speed, I couldn't push it more than a few MHz over stock, and this is with the stock cooling, so I figured that the stock heatsink had a crappy contact with the chips. Oh yeah, I'm doing the OCing with the regular "Clock Frequency" menu on the GeForce 6800 tab of my Advanced display settings (the thing that comes with the card - not RivaTuner or anything like that). The stock speeds are 325/700.

The thing is, when the core finally maxed out at 424MHz, my '05 score was barely over 3500! It was a little frustrating, but then I figured maybe the fact that the core is way over stock and the RAM is so much lower degrades performance.

So then today the NV Silencer 5 Rev.3 came and I slapped her on with some AS5, and luckily I was able to bring it up to 431/811, but the 3DMark05 score was still in the low 3800's.

How did I get that 4000?? Any ideas?
__________________

__________________
ilovesocks is offline  
Old 11-01-2005, 04:05 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

start over and retest and see if you get it again...If you push your card beyond what it can efficiently do...even if it's not getting hot or showing artifacts, it will decrease in score...basically it's not getting enough voltage at the higher speeds....however I don't see why that should be happening at 431/811 but you got 4k at 375/700 or whatever it is you were doing.

Reset it back to stock and check your scores, and go back up is all I can say until you notice the scores go back down you'd have to just settle for whatever the highest is
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 11-01-2005, 10:42 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 378
Default

Ah, I see - I'll do that. Thanks Nubius!
__________________
ilovesocks is offline  
Old 11-01-2005, 09:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 378
Default

Just a follow-up - I started the core over at stock and worked it up again, and got 4091 in '05 at 386/811. Weird how the extra 50 or so MHz dropped the score nearly 600 points, but didn't compromise stability.
__________________
ilovesocks is offline  
Old 11-03-2005, 08:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 900
Default

I had the same thing happen with my 6800GT. I eventually just settled for clocks with the highest 3DMark scores.
__________________
Jesus said to him, "I am the way, the truth, and the life; no one comes to the Father but through me". -John 14:6
PizzatheHut06 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.