Stock CPU fan on VGA - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-21-2006, 01:34 AM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default Stock CPU fan on VGA

Hey,

The Fan on the 7900 GT is lound and downright bad.

I was wondering if it would be a good idea to put my old amd heatsink on it instead

I have copper Ram Sinks on the way too


thoughts, suggestions, ideas?
__________________

__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 05-21-2006, 01:35 AM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

how are you planning on attaching it?
__________________

The General is offline  
Old 05-21-2006, 01:45 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

drilling holes thru it and alining it ...


alot of people are doing it at XS, one guy put a cnps on his VGA, but it took all his PCI slots
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 05-21-2006, 02:02 AM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

lol i wouldnt drill holes in my video card

i hope you mean drill holes in your heatsink :-P
The General is offline  
Old 05-21-2006, 04:16 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 823
Default

yea same i wouldnt drill holes in the vga
harry18 is offline  
Old 05-21-2006, 10:13 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

He means drilling holes in the HS. I did that to my 6200TC and it dropped the temps a good 15*C! Here's a picture of it, I use an old pentium 1 passive heatsink and screwed a fan on it:
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 05-21-2006, 10:57 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 823
Default

oooh i get yas, yes that sounds good
harry18 is offline  
Old 05-21-2006, 11:41 AM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

The only thing that's going to be hard about doing the is drilling the holes. I broke a drill bit or two because of the large fins, but if you have smaller one's it will be easier. You can also use your old heatsink from the card for reference to where the holes go.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 05-21-2006, 11:59 AM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

Thank you reggie,

You Would have to be a complete dumbass to drill holes in your VGA


so yeah Im thinking Il do this later......

any more suggestions?
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 05-21-2006, 12:11 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

Careful of the weight you dont want to snap your video card in half
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.