Static/Grounding.... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-13-2005, 06:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
JDGreen92086's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sellersburg, Indiana
Posts: 343
Send a message via AIM to JDGreen92086
Default Static/Grounding....

Okay, I ordered my parts earlier today(in profile btw), and they should be arriving within a few days. I know static electricity discharges can damage and fry components rendering them useless. I need to know what I can do to ground myself, the parts, or whatever. I don't want anything to fry.

I've heard about anti static wristbands once on the forum, and I'm wondering if I could get them at like Wal Mart, Circuit City, or some other stores. I would have just gone to one of these places, but they are about 30-40 miles away.

Anyway.... any helpful information?
__________________

__________________
Newbie since 2005.
JDGreen92086 is offline  
Old 07-13-2005, 06:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 725
Default

Static wristbands are very simple devices. Get some alunimum foil (or other conductive material, and some wire. Secure the wire (with a stripped end of course) to the foil and secure the foil to your wrist. Then take the other end of the wire and do the following:
1.)on an outlet, back out the faceplate screw a little
2.)strip the other end of the wire, and wrap the conductor around this screw a couple of times, taking care to avoid putting it in any of the 120V sockets
3.) screw it back in, and go to work

Other helpful tips:
>If you dont want to go through that hassle, touch that screw before touching anythign else, and touch it periodically while you work
>Work on a bare wooden floor in bare feet in a T-shirt (clothing can build up charge)

BUT: DO NOT do any of this unless osmeone else verifies it. I am not responsible for anything I said here (ie use at your own risk)

Also if you have another computer, touching the PSU will ground you out as well.

EDIT: and wash and thoughly dry your hands. Just a common precaution I would take against "foreign contamination"
__________________

__________________
AGP won\'t fit in PCI-E... unless you use a really good hammer. ~Trotter
digitaloracle is offline  
Old 07-13-2005, 06:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
JDGreen92086's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sellersburg, Indiana
Posts: 343
Send a message via AIM to JDGreen92086
Default

Cool ty. Any more tips anyone?
__________________
Newbie since 2005.
JDGreen92086 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.