Static!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-22-2004, 03:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 17
Default Static!!

Hi guys,
I just started building my first PC a couple weeks ago, and I'm in a little bit of a worry stage as of now. I put some of it together, and then looked around on the internet for how to hook up IDE drives, floppy drives, etc. When I came across something about "grounding" yourself before working on parts. I did no such thing. I worked in a few places, I worked on a table, with linoleum flooring, I stood on the carpet holding the motherboard, also, I layed the case on my bed, with the parts in it (none of them actually touching the bed) and worked on it. Just wondering if there is a high chance that I could have damaged something in the process. Thanks
__________________

Zigg is offline  
Old 02-22-2004, 03:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

i wouldn't say high chance, maybe a small chance. next time install power supply into case, plug the power cord into the power supply, hold case with a hand, unplug cord, leave your one hand or elbow on case while working on computer. you can also use a static wriststrap
__________________

ekÆsine is offline  
Old 02-22-2004, 03:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 17
Default

erm, thanks, I'm still a little nervous about it though. I didn't really touch the parts, I held it more along the edges, except for a few times a touched a few peices, but I was on the linoleum again. I think I might just get a static gaurd, to ward off this problem again, thanks
Zigg is offline  
Old 02-23-2004, 03:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 261
Default

Well i just opened up a computer to look at it. I was laying on carpet but I would touch different metal objects every once in a while. I took out my hard drive, ram, and video card and when I put it back in my computer wouldnt boot up so maybe there is a chance that both you and I messed up a part or two
dbernie41 is offline  
Old 02-23-2004, 06:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 17
Default

erm, im pretty sure mine is fine, looks like it works so far, I could have started a degrading process on it though. oh well
Zigg is offline  
Old 02-27-2004, 06:39 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 116
Default

Look you don't really need one of those bands, just touch the radiator and it will have the same effect.
__________________
Walking in the dark
Meck is offline  
Old 02-27-2004, 08:37 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 872
Default

The easiest way to ground ur self would be ...is to grab the systemcase .. this is normally more than sufficient
__________________
Screenshots of my Desktop.....Post ur\'s too :D

AMD AthlonXP3000+@ 2.2GHz, Cooler Master Aero 7+, Gigabyte 7NNXP , 1GB Kingston HyperX PC3200 Dual Channel , MSI FX5600 VTDR 256 ,Pinnacle PCTV , 120+120GB Barracuda , Liteon 52x CDRW , Samsung DVDROM , Benq DW1620 16x DVD ReWriter, Phillips 21\" TV,Samsung Syncmaster 763MB,Logitech Cordless MX DUO , Thermaltake Silent PurePower 480W Butterfly Series PSU, Win XP SP2,RH9.
Creative DDTS100 Decoder, Creative Inspire TD7700 7.1 Speakers

Search TF B4 u post { Thanks for this one! Emily :) }
<form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\"><input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form>
preet2u is offline  
Old 02-27-2004, 02:51 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 764
Send a message via AIM to True_Orb
Default

I link two of my metal necklaces and wrap my writs around them, and wrap the other end around a part of the case. Cheap n' easy
__________________
I argue with people on internet message boards.
Don\'t copy dat floppy!

--------------
Gigabyte GA-7DX(R) DualBIOS/A-bit KV8-Pro
AMD Duron 1.313GHZ/AMD 64 3000+ 2.0 GHZ
512 DDR266/1024 OCZ DDR (3200)
Chaintech GeForce 3 128mb/eVGA 6800GT 256mb
400 watt Powmax/530 watt Fortron
40.9GB 94098U8/80gb SATA
Maxtor DiamondMax/Seagate Barricuda
AOpen KF45A modded case
True_Orb is offline  
Old 02-27-2004, 06:15 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 872
Default

That's a neat trick .... Orb
__________________
Screenshots of my Desktop.....Post ur\'s too :D

AMD AthlonXP3000+@ 2.2GHz, Cooler Master Aero 7+, Gigabyte 7NNXP , 1GB Kingston HyperX PC3200 Dual Channel , MSI FX5600 VTDR 256 ,Pinnacle PCTV , 120+120GB Barracuda , Liteon 52x CDRW , Samsung DVDROM , Benq DW1620 16x DVD ReWriter, Phillips 21\" TV,Samsung Syncmaster 763MB,Logitech Cordless MX DUO , Thermaltake Silent PurePower 480W Butterfly Series PSU, Win XP SP2,RH9.
Creative DDTS100 Decoder, Creative Inspire TD7700 7.1 Speakers

Search TF B4 u post { Thanks for this one! Emily :) }
<form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\"><input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form>
preet2u is offline  
Old 02-27-2004, 08:27 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

thats dangerous True_Orb, if you happen to leave your power supply plugged in and your necklace contacts a capacitor or whatever else you are toast, receive nasty burns on your wrist, or at least get a nice shock.

preet4u touching the case alone will not ground you. the case itself has to be grounded momentarily. i always plug the power cord in, touch case, unplug cord. an electrician told me if you use a anti-static wristband you have the same problem. if you are the path of least resistance you are a goner
__________________

ekÆsine is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.