started up my comp (first time builder) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-29-2004, 11:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 32
Default started up my comp (first time builder)

Well I finished putting together my comptuer tonight. Connected everything, and was ready to power up. Plugged everything in, turned on the monitor, then turned on the computer. The computer turned on fine, all fans are running, cdrom is running, harddrive is running, everything is running too my knowledge, but nothing shows up on the monitor. the monitor just seems to go on standby. and nothing will show up. can someone help me out and give me some ideas of what might be wrong??? remember im a first time building, so im totally lost on what to do.
any responses would be appreciated.

thanks.
__________________

kicflipfive is offline  
Old 09-29-2004, 11:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

I had this problem once when I built a system, what ended up to be the case was a faulty apg slot on the mobo. Take your video card out and try it in another system, and take a different video card and put it in that system, this will tell you what the problem is.
__________________

__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 09-30-2004, 12:08 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 393
Default

yes.. make sure that ur card is properly seated into the agp slot.. try pushing it in a lil more.. ive had this problem as well (with cheap *** ecx mobo).. it turned out the motherboard took a crap on me
__________________
\"It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it.\"
-Aristotle
_SiLv3R_ is offline  
Old 09-30-2004, 12:11 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 32
Default

well i think i might know whats wrong, i was reading through the manual for the graphics card, and it says that there is a power connector (4 pins) thats connects to the power supply, and i didn't do taht, but when i took it out there was know connecter on the card
kicflipfive is offline  
Old 09-30-2004, 12:20 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 393
Default

haha lol yeah that wud solve the problem... but we didnt know the model of ur graphics card.. thats why u shud post ur FULL system specs when u have a problem :P... btw what graphics card do u have? lol
__________________
\"It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it.\"
-Aristotle
_SiLv3R_ is offline  
Old 09-30-2004, 12:23 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 32
Default

I have the ATI Radeon 9600XT. But the only problem is there isn't a 4 pin power connector on the card. unless im completely blind and just can't see it
kicflipfive is offline  
Old 09-30-2004, 12:25 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 393
Default

no 9600 XTs dont need a 4 pin molex connector.. only the newer cards doo.. id suggest trying ur video card in another machine... if it works than u know u have a faulty mobo... if not then u shud work on gettin and RMA for ur vid card lol
__________________
\"It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it.\"
-Aristotle
_SiLv3R_ is offline  
Old 09-30-2004, 12:31 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 32
Default

also, im not sure if this would make a difference, but i took out a little plastic wedge that was in the graphics card slot, the mobo manuel said too, but the only thing is that where the plastic wedge was, isn't even being used by the card.
kicflipfive is offline  
Old 09-30-2004, 12:38 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 32
Default

^^^^ could that be why? because i took that plastic wedge out. the card doesn't even use the portion of the agp slot where the plastic was. Also I looked to make sure everything was connect. and i found a couple wire that wern't. One is from the psu. its a 6pin auxillary connector. could that be the problem? also i can't seem to find the place where the auxillary connector connects. Anyone have any advice on anything else before i take my other computer apart and try the old video card on my new comp.?? any advice would be greatly appreciated.


also i just found another wire that wasn't connected, im not sure it if it needs to be connected. its a Serial ata power connector. i can't find where that goes either.

another thing i just notice is that the CPU Fan has a light on it, and it flashes on and off when i turn the machine on. Could it be that the cpu is installed incorrectly? And there is a light on the mobo that lights green when the machine is on. but when i turn it off, its still lit. im not sure if this has anything to do with my problem tho.

sorry for all the trouble, im just trying to give all the information to see all the possible reason why nothing will show up on the monitor.
kicflipfive is offline  
Old 09-30-2004, 02:35 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 32
Default

the computer doesn't beep when I turn it on, but i can hear everything running
__________________

kicflipfive is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.