Stacker 810 Work Station - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-08-2009, 06:59 PM   #21 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Stacker 810 Work Station

Well it's been raining almost everyday and I've still have a little painting left to do. The sun was shining today and I tried to paint but there's so much moisture in the air I got bubbles and had to re-sand. Hopefully the rain will stop soon.

It seems the worst thing about me and modding is my ever changing mind. I was just going to paint the case to start with and then I decided to pimp out the mobo with Thermalright heatsinks. Then I decided to upgrade the mobo to an X48 chipset with DDR3, but after looking at the prices and hearing the i7 920 was to be discontinued I've decided to give it a complete upgrade.

i7 920 (don't know what stepping)
Newegg.com - Intel Core i7 920 Nehalem 2.66GHz 4 x 256KB L2 Cache 8MB L3 Cache LGA 1366 130W Quad-Core Processor - Processors - Desktops
EVGA X58 LE (new mid-level, lower priced mobo)
Newegg.com - EVGA 141-BL-E757-TR LGA 1366 Intel X58 ATX X58 SLI LE Intel Motherboard - Intel Motherboards
OCZ 6GB (3x2GB) DDR3 1600
Newegg.com - OCZ Platinum 6GB (3 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Triple Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory
Corsair 750w PS
Newegg.com - CORSAIR CMPSU-750TX 750W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Compatible with Core i7 Power Supply - Power Supplies

And I order a EVGA GTX 280 a few days ago so I could make a few Tri-SLI benchmark runs with my Super PC, and I'll be using that GTX 280 in this PC.
EVGA | Products 200 Series Family
And I just got the new cooler for this GTX 280 in the mail today.
Arctic Cooling Accelero XTREME GTX 280 Products Model: ACCELX280 [ACCELX280] : Performance-PCs.com, ... sleeve it and they will come

Maybe I'll finish this before we see 8 core cpu's
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 06-08-2009, 07:13 PM   #22 (permalink)
The Angriest of Amoebas
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,180
Default Re: Stacker 810 Work Station

Good thing you can afford your ever changing mind I'm excited to finally see this thing completely built and with some benchmarks.
__________________

__________________
toxicity_27 is offline  
Old 06-08-2009, 09:54 PM   #23 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: WI, USA
Posts: 1,556
Send a message via MSN to yzmxer608
Default Re: Stacker 810 Work Station

Sounds really nice! Here's a kinda stupid question, those heatsinks on the mobo, those are metal right? For some reason they look like plastic to me, unless it's just the paint that makes them look that way.
yzmxer608 is offline  
Old 06-09-2009, 01:38 AM   #24 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default Re: Stacker 810 Work Station

Quote:
Originally Posted by charles_scott View Post
So... One thick heavy coat.... Not always the best idea. :-p Lighter coats would give a more professional look, but it does look good.
x2...
First coat is a dusting.. just to get some material on there, 2nd and third coats are for coverage.


But not a bad build.
__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline  
Old 06-16-2009, 06:51 PM   #25 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Stacker 810 Work Station

The case is starting to look pretty. I've painted it and clear coated it but it was streaky so I sanded it down and did a repeat. Needless to say I still wasn't satisfied so it's got about 6 or 7 coats on the top and sides. I should have some new pictures of the case tomorrow.

I've got some new hardware shots for your viewing pleasure thou NewEgg sent me a D stepping i7 920, HeHeHe









__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 06-16-2009, 10:47 PM   #26 (permalink)
The Angriest of Amoebas
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,180
Default Re: Stacker 810 Work Station

Wow, that looks amazing. I'm jealous.
__________________
toxicity_27 is offline  
Old 06-16-2009, 11:40 PM   #27 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: WI, USA
Posts: 1,556
Send a message via MSN to yzmxer608
Default Re: Stacker 810 Work Station

Is that a northbridge heat sink? It looks almost exactly like the cpu heatsink. Looking good so far, can't wait to see it with more stuff .
__________________
yzmxer608 is offline  
Old 06-17-2009, 12:49 AM   #28 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Stacker 810 Work Station

Looks real nice Slaymate.

We need to rename this thread to: Towers of Power.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 06-17-2009, 02:28 AM   #29 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Stacker 810 Work Station

nice, lets see that new GTX 280 cooler in action!
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 06-17-2009, 08:06 AM   #30 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Stacker 810 Work Station

Thanks Guy's, expect more pic's when I get home from work this evening
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Netgear WG311 v2 dosnt work with vista...please help Mooky Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 3 10-27-2008 09:51 PM
2 Groups of friends and work on a saturday night Harper Off Topic Discussion 11 09-30-2008 08:19 AM
USB Mice Don't Work - Everything Else USB Does. Blizzard596 Microsoft Windows and Software 2 03-26-2007 06:35 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.