Stacker 810 Work Station - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-10-2009, 06:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Stacker 810 Work Station

Since I have a new case for my Gamer I've decided to use my old CM Stacker at my office. I'm not really sure exactly what I'm going to do to it. I guess I'll be making all the decisions as I go. So far I've decided to paint it completely Black. I have a new side panel with a built-in window, but I don't really like Acrylic. I have a piece of Honeycomb Mesh I'll be using instead. I'll be adding handles, castors, LED fans, all the basics. For the hardware I have a QX9650 with a True 120, Asus P5K Deluxe WiFi, 4GB DDR2 1150 with Thermalright Coolers, EVGA 9800GTX+, 750 watt Modular Power Supply.

So far I've disassembled the chassis, cut a few holes for wire management and started sanding it down.









__________________

Slaymate is offline  
Old 04-10-2009, 07:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
AKA ComatoseClown
 
H4x3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,526
Send a message via AIM to H4x3r Send a message via MSN to H4x3r
Default Re: Stacker 810 Work Station

ooo I'd like to follow this one...should look pretty slick being black...make sure to keep us updated ^_^
__________________

__________________
H4x3r is offline  
Old 04-10-2009, 07:09 PM   #3 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: Stacker 810 Work Station

Good choice on installing mesh instead. Besides airflow it will look cool if you add some lights. I used to love how my ballistix tracers would shine through the mesh side.
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 04-10-2009, 07:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
 
jfenwick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,648
Send a message via ICQ to jfenwick Send a message via MSN to jfenwick
Default Re: Stacker 810 Work Station

Nice....what you have planned for the Lian-Li?
jfenwick is offline  
Old 04-10-2009, 08:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: Stacker 810 Work Station

It looks like you blew a mobo in the back there, haha. Big scorch mark. :P

Interested to see how this goes.
__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 04-11-2009, 08:52 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Stacker 810 Work Station

Quote:
Originally Posted by jfenwick View Post
Nice....what you have planned for the Lian-Li?
Look here
http://www.techist.com/forums/f10/sl...s-saga-200179/

Quote:
Originally Posted by hikaricloud View Post
It looks like you blew a mobo in the back there, haha. Big scorch mark. :P

Interested to see how this goes.
There's a removable plate located right there. So I went ahead and removed it, gave it a shot of paint and replaced it

Slaymate is offline  
Old 04-11-2009, 11:27 AM   #7 (permalink)
 
jfenwick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,648
Send a message via ICQ to jfenwick Send a message via MSN to jfenwick
Default Re: Stacker 810 Work Station

Lol, thought maybe you had another project on the go.
jfenwick is offline  
Old 04-13-2009, 05:33 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Stacker 810 Work Station

Today I worked on the Top Panel pieces. I cut an exhaust hole for a 120mm fan to replace the stock 80mm fan. And for some reason the top had some serious scratches in it. I sanded them down and applied some spot putty to the blemishes. Then I sanded it down smooth again and primed it, more sanding, more priming, again and again. They are now a smooth primer gray just waiting for paint



Slaymate is offline  
Old 04-16-2009, 06:00 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Stacker 810 Work Station

Today I worked on the side panel with the factory acrylic window. I removed the window and fitted in a piece of Honeycomb Mesh.



The window is thicker than the mesh so I bent some flat panel nuts to hold the mesh in place.



With the side panel primered I can look for blemishes that might affect the paint finish. I like the looks of the honeycomb mesh instead of the acrylic window.



The side panel was brand new, never used, so it's in good shape. But with primer applied you can see the heads of the recessed window retention nuts.



It wasn't noticeable as a plain alumimun panel but it will be visible painted so I'm going to smooth them out. Using my dremel I grind the area down to produce a slight indentation.



I probably should of used fiberstrand body filler, but it's such a small area I just used a dab of body putty.



I let it dry for about 30 minutes and sanded it down with 600 grit sandpaper.



I primed the panel and sanded it down with 800 grit paper and then I primed and sanded again. It must be magic because I just don't see the blemishes anymore.



And the panel is ready for some paint

Slaymate is offline  
Old 04-16-2009, 06:41 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Stacker 810 Work Station

wow, that mesh does look good. looks better than the window imo.
__________________

__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Netgear WG311 v2 dosnt work with vista...please help Mooky Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 3 10-27-2008 09:51 PM
2 Groups of friends and work on a saturday night Harper Off Topic Discussion 11 09-30-2008 08:19 AM
USB Mice Don't Work - Everything Else USB Does. Blizzard596 Microsoft Windows and Software 2 03-26-2007 06:35 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.