Is this Stable? OC'ing - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-15-2006, 04:38 PM   #21 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 79
Send a message via AIM to jhick40
Default

even when it's just your wallpaper, there's stuff in the background.
__________________

__________________
Intel Pentium 4 2.8ghz | Hewlett-Packard 085Ch (D530 SFF)
1024mb DDR400 | eVGA FX5500 128mb @ 300/495
Western Digital Caviar 40gb| 8x CD-RW | SB Audigy SE
jhick40 is offline  
Old 02-15-2006, 04:40 PM   #22 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Hapx4.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 246
Send a message via AIM to Hapx4.0
Default

Well ya i know that but, it never used to stay on ALL the time, i only have about 13 processes running and cpu usage is at 0% some times and it stays on.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC]http://www.techist.com/pc/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=33903&dateline=129725 0895[/SIGPIC]
Hapx4.0 is offline  
Old 02-15-2006, 05:51 PM   #23 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
BennyV04988's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,835
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Hapx4.0
Oh and a question, i have it set to 250 HTT and @ 10x multi. Should i put it at 300 and x8? to have more FSB ( HTT )
Would someone answer this question? I have the exact same issue of concern. Does it affect perf at all or is it purely for options and flexability?
__________________
3DMARK VANTAGE: 11,500
GPU: MSI GTX 260 @ 650MHz/1175MHz
CPU: Intel E6750 @ 3.4GHz/1.33v/60c
HSF: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
MOBO: MSI P6N SLI-FI 650i
RAM: G.SKILL 3x1GB DDR2 800
SND: Creative Audigy 4
SPK:Logtech X-540s
MOS: Logitech MX600 Wireless Laser
LCD: HANNS-G 28" Widescreen
BennyV04988 is offline  
Old 02-15-2006, 06:12 PM   #24 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

the only reason to put a lower multi is to make your higher FSB HTT which NECESSAIRLY ISNT GOOD, its only good when you have some nice overclocking ram, TCCD for example then you can make it run at a full 1:1 ratio with your CPU running at the speed it can run at. say your CPU can only go up to 2.5Ghz and your at 250*10, but your ram can do DDR600 300mhz, so you can set it at 300*8 for 2.4 lol then uh overclock your ram some more lol
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 02-15-2006, 07:03 PM   #25 (permalink)
Do work.
 
molsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,177
Send a message via AIM to molsen
Default

S&M is better for testing the max temp. of your CPU. Prime95 will give a better stability test, so run it at least 8 hours (just turn it on when you goto bed and check it in the morning).

What are you doing with your RAM? Are you overclocking that at all? Do you have a memory divider set? When you raise the FSB that raises your memory bus speed to. Keep an eye on that because RAM doesn't normally OC as far as processors do and will cause stability problems too.

It was mentioned earlier: Memtest86 or the S&M memory test is pretty good.
__________________
http://mattjolsen.tumblr.com
flickr

Intel E8400 @ 3.78ghz
8gb (4x2gb) G.SKILL DDR2 1600 @ 420mhz, 5-5-5-12
ASrock P43Twins1600 (hates RAM dividers)
WD Caviar 500gb + 250gb hdd, 32mb cache
eVGA 7900gs @ 585/1700mhz
OCZ GameXStream 600w PSU
Sound Blaster X-Fi Platinum
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
molsen is offline  
Old 02-15-2006, 07:08 PM   #26 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Hapx4.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 246
Send a message via AIM to Hapx4.0
Default

I have did nothing with RAM no, memory divider set? uh not sure. But my pc has not crashed since iv owned it, or been laggy, but my ram is PNY OPTIMA PC 3200 DDR400, so will it be ok with my having 240*10? on a AMD 3200+ Venice?
__________________
[SIGPIC]http://www.techist.com/pc/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=33903&dateline=129725 0895[/SIGPIC]
Hapx4.0 is offline  
Old 02-15-2006, 07:45 PM   #27 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

If its stable its fine ...
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 02-15-2006, 08:04 PM   #28 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Hapx4.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 246
Send a message via AIM to Hapx4.0
Default

^ cool thanks.
__________________
[SIGPIC]http://www.techist.com/pc/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=33903&dateline=129725 0895[/SIGPIC]
Hapx4.0 is offline  
Old 02-15-2006, 09:33 PM   #29 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
BennyV04988's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,835
Default

So...lowering you multiplier and rasing the HTT is so you can run your ram at the same HTT? So what about 2.52GHz (9x 280HTT) with DDR400 ram? Is that okay? If the multiplier only goes up to 9x persay. Does this only matter when you HTT is LESS 1/2 the DDR?

I'm so confused....
__________________
3DMARK VANTAGE: 11,500
GPU: MSI GTX 260 @ 650MHz/1175MHz
CPU: Intel E6750 @ 3.4GHz/1.33v/60c
HSF: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
MOBO: MSI P6N SLI-FI 650i
RAM: G.SKILL 3x1GB DDR2 800
SND: Creative Audigy 4
SPK:Logtech X-540s
MOS: Logitech MX600 Wireless Laser
LCD: HANNS-G 28" Widescreen
BennyV04988 is offline  
Old 02-16-2006, 06:42 AM   #30 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

if yuo have crap OC'ing ram make the multi the highest you can go. Or just dont even tuoch the multi...

if your DDR400 ram can do it then its fine IT DOESNT MATTER!!!!!!!
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.