Is this Stable? OC'ing - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-14-2006, 07:05 PM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Hapx4.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 246
Send a message via AIM to Hapx4.0
Default

Cool got it, ok lets see how this works

http://img463.imageshack.us/img463/5994/cpuz2ic.jpg

http://img119.imageshack.us/img119/3892/ehe3kk.jpg

Will this be safe?
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC]http://www.techist.com/pc/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=33903&dateline=129725 0895[/SIGPIC]
Hapx4.0 is offline  
Old 02-14-2006, 07:16 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Hapx4.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 246
Send a message via AIM to Hapx4.0
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by reggie_da_man
Press print screen above page up on your keyboard. Then upload it to a site, right click on the uploaded picture, copy the link and then back in the post write[*IMG]your link[/IMG*] Without the stars. If you go any higher your going to have to set the HT frequency to 4X. (You take the FSB and multiply it by that number, you want to stay as close to 1000 as possible.)
Sorry to sound so slow at this but, lemme see if i understand what your saying

Ok the way im doing it is 10x 240 to get 2.4

your way is less multiplying and more HT? right?
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC]http://www.techist.com/pc/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=33903&dateline=129725 0895[/SIGPIC]
Hapx4.0 is offline  
Old 02-14-2006, 07:19 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
boomstick666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 743
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Hapx4.0
Okay i put it at 1.4, and Everest says its at 1.42 so i think ill leave it there, i ran the stresscpu and the temp never broke 45, at 2.4ghz with 240, x10.

how do i take a screenshot of my cpuz and everest ?
run prime95 for over night. like 12 hours. and if u see no errors, its stable.
u can try OCCT too. since OCCT has 30 min stress test if u wanna see quick look at the stability.
but i would recomend u to do both. sometimes prime95 passes but not OCCT.
__________________
i5 2500K @ 4.8GHz 1.384v - AsRock P67 Extreme4 B3 BIOS 1.90
G.Skill Ripjaws X DDR3 PC12800 2x4GB @ 1866 9-10-9-28 1T 1.590v
EVGA GTX 570HD SC 930/1950 1.100v
Crucial M4 SSD 128GB - OCZ 700W PSU (4x18A) - Noctua NH-D14 (BM120mm x Noctua140mm)
Corsair 600T SE White - Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit SP1 - Mitsubishi DiamondPro2070sb (CRT!)

3DMark11 P7089 | 3DMark Vantage P26383
boomstick666 is offline  
Old 02-14-2006, 07:21 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Hapx4.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 246
Send a message via AIM to Hapx4.0
Default

^ Cool thanks! im just REALLY new at this, i always bought my pcs before this one and i had to sell one of my nice guitar amps to get this haha, so i dont wana mess it up. ill try them programs, thanks!
__________________
[SIGPIC]http://www.techist.com/pc/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=33903&dateline=129725 0895[/SIGPIC]
Hapx4.0 is offline  
Old 02-14-2006, 07:44 PM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

i think reggie_da_man meant LDT multiplier. default is 5x when multiplied by the FSB 200 gives you 1000mhz. you want to alter this multiplier to keep the total around 1000 or your motherboard may do it automatically.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 02-14-2006, 07:57 PM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Hapx4.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 246
Send a message via AIM to Hapx4.0
Default

ahh ok , yea i think it does it auto, but i did the OCCT test and it says it was A-Okay! Thanks!

Seems like its running great at 2.4ghz.
__________________
[SIGPIC]http://www.techist.com/pc/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=33903&dateline=129725 0895[/SIGPIC]
Hapx4.0 is offline  
Old 02-15-2006, 03:20 AM   #17 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

forget about that test. use prime95 and memtest86 to verify your overclock is stable
Nitestick is offline  
Old 02-15-2006, 07:00 AM   #18 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

forget about that test run S&M and see your temps rise lol
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 02-15-2006, 07:04 AM   #19 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Hapx4.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 246
Send a message via AIM to Hapx4.0
Default

lol i dont wana break it , i just wanted to make sure its safe
__________________
[SIGPIC]http://www.techist.com/pc/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=33903&dateline=129725 0895[/SIGPIC]
Hapx4.0 is offline  
Old 02-15-2006, 07:11 AM   #20 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Hapx4.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 246
Send a message via AIM to Hapx4.0
Default

Oh and a question, i have it set to 250 HTT and @ 10x multi. Should i put it at 300 and x8? to have more FSB ( HTT )

And does anyone know why my CPU led light stays on now that i have overclocked? does it think its working all the time? even when my cpu usage is at 0%?
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC]http://www.techist.com/pc/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=33903&dateline=129725 0895[/SIGPIC]
Hapx4.0 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.