Stabilizing my OC - Looking for help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-14-2009, 01:49 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
smashedpumpkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 392
Default Stabilizing my OC - Looking for help

It's been a while since I've done any ocing. I've had my computer on default settings for a while and I'm looking to overclock it again. Ive been messing with it lately and here's where I'm at. It's not incredible, but with my cooler it shouldn't be too hard to stabilize it. (Specs are in my signature)

Currently it lasts most of the day, but occasionally it freezes. (I've got 4 games running using a bot) Once I got a blue screen. Both times were when my monitors were off since I wasn't at the PC. Yesterday prime95 ran for only a few minutes. Right now it's been going for about 10 minutes. Max temps are 65's so far. Does anyone have any ideas on what I can do to eliminate to freezing? What do you think I should change? Thanks

3.6125 Ghz
QDR 1700 x 8.5 Multiplier
FSB 1.4v
SPP 1.45v
MCP 1.525v
HT 1.25v
Vcore 1.35v
Ram 800 auto volts (Left it alone)
Timings 5-5-5-15-2T
Temps idle at 48,46,46,47

That's all I've changed.

__________________

__________________
“Fortune favors the brave.”
smashedpumpkins is offline  
Old 06-14-2009, 03:41 AM   #2 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default Re: Stabilizing my OC - Looking for help

This still amazes me how intel can achieve such a higher clock st such a low Vcore. ...

65* is hot @ 3.6g.. (to me at least)

I'm gonna leave this to an intel guru.. But I'd say that the clock you're at, feed the PSU a little more voltage and see how things run. -Remember, I'm AMD.. From my minuscule experience, freezing is from the processor being hot, so one would thing More Vcore would make things hotter.....
__________________

__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline  
Old 06-14-2009, 04:55 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
smashedpumpkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 392
Default Re: Stabilizing my OC - Looking for help

Yeah I had a feeling it might be a little hot. And actually while playing my bots I pushed up to 74,68,72,71 temps... Not sure why mines running so hot. I'll play with the Vcore like you said, but I assume that'll make it higher? Is there anything else I can up instead? Or any ideas?
__________________
“Fortune favors the brave.”
smashedpumpkins is offline  
Old 06-14-2009, 04:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default Re: Stabilizing my OC - Looking for help

Maybe a stupid question, but what heat sink and paste are you running??
__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline  
Old 06-14-2009, 04:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
smashedpumpkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 392
Default Re: Stabilizing my OC - Looking for help

I have a Tuniq cooler and I use Tuniq TX-2 paste. Thanks
__________________
“Fortune favors the brave.”
smashedpumpkins is offline  
Old 06-15-2009, 12:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
smashedpumpkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 392
Default Re: Stabilizing my OC - Looking for help

Hmm any other advice? Like what should I play with? Thanks!
__________________
“Fortune favors the brave.”
smashedpumpkins is offline  
Old 06-15-2009, 03:18 PM   #7 (permalink)
Inspired by Art
 
tastegw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,400
Default Re: Stabilizing my OC - Looking for help

have you tried re-seating the cooler, and are you sure you applied the "correct" amount of paste.
(TX-2 and AS-5 need different amounts)

also,..what is your room temps
__________________
tastegw is offline  
Old 06-15-2009, 05:30 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Stabilizing my OC - Looking for help

If it's running hotter than usual and you've changed nothing then a good cleaning may help. Next I would check all my fans for proper operation (noise level, is it spinning smooth or does it seem to wobble, etc..) and replace any I find bad. If it's been along time since you've pulled the heatsink off then the thermal paste maybe degraded and need replacing. While the heatsink is off check the base for a smooth level surface, you may need to lap it as I've seen various bases warp from high heat.

Also, there is a newer version of RealTemp out that maybe more accurate than the version your using.
Real Temp - CPU temperature monitoring
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 06-15-2009, 05:32 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
smashedpumpkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 392
Default Re: Stabilizing my OC - Looking for help

Dang after reapplying the paste with just a dot and smearing it with a credit card I'm already running about 15 degrees cooler. I'll try upping the vcore a knotch now and see if I have any issues.
Eh it runs 5 degrees hotter with Real Temp 3.00 lol
__________________
“Fortune favors the brave.”
smashedpumpkins is offline  
Old 06-15-2009, 10:03 PM   #10 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default Re: Stabilizing my OC - Looking for help

^ I use HW Monitor.. Small program to keep on the other monitor during games..

I was going to suggest reapplying the past, but I don't know much about Intel and I didn't wanna hog the thread..... Leave this one to the pros.. LOL..
__________________

__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.