AS SSD/HDD Benchmark Thread - Page 7 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-12-2010, 09:28 AM   #61 (permalink)
True Techie
 
InsaneJester17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Rhode Island, USA
Posts: 103
Send a message via AIM to InsaneJester17
Default Re: AS SSD/HDD Benchmark Thread

Thanks for sharing that! Though it doesn't seem putting two in RAID0 helps a whole lot. Good to know!
__________________

__________________
OPTIMUS PRIME
AMD Phenom II x4 955 BE OC'd 3.6ghz - 4GB G.Skill Ripjaw DDR3 1600
30GB OCZ Vertex SSD - 500GB WD Green - Antec Earthwatts 650w PSU
ATI Radeon 4650 - ASRock M3A770DE Mobo - Chieftec Dragon DX-01 Case
InsaneJester17 is offline  
Old 04-12-2010, 12:28 PM   #62 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2
Default Re: AS SSD/HDD Benchmark Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by InsaneJester17 View Post
Thanks for sharing that! Though it doesn't seem putting two in RAID0 helps a whole lot. Good to know!
Depends on the use. When checking with HD-Tune and 128K Reads they deliver about 370MB/s MAX, 180 MIN and 272 AVG.

With 256K Reads they do a MAX of 428, MIN 300 and 359 AVG. If you do a lot of sequential reads/writes, like Video editing, that comes in handy, doesn't give you much advantage on the IOPS side of life i think. At best 15-20% increase in speed would be my guess.

Will redo the test, when i ran TRIM over it again and corrected a that BAD SECTOR 31K thingy. Maybe they're not at full speed...
__________________

ThirdLife is offline  
Old 04-13-2010, 06:31 AM   #63 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: AS SSD/HDD Benchmark Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fat.Clown View Post
monstrous score!
how long did that take you?
A lot longer than i expected, was a good 2 hours i think, not sure though, cant remember now.
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 04-14-2010, 08:28 PM   #64 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default Re: AS SSD/HDD Benchmark Thread

No idea why this is so low. running FW 1.41. I'm pretty much giving up with this stuff.

79 | Antec User | OCZ Vertex 30GB

__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline  
Old 04-15-2010, 08:11 AM   #65 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: AS SSD/HDD Benchmark Thread

Upgrade to firmware 1.5

Clean out your temp files and flush the recycle bin to initiate the TRIM command.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 04-15-2010, 05:08 PM   #66 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default Re: AS SSD/HDD Benchmark Thread

^ I'm running Vista, still need trim? 1.5 FW Will work ok with Vista? I keep this setup pretty clean. I don't use it all the time and I have 10 out of 30 gigs free.
__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline  
Old 04-15-2010, 06:08 PM   #67 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: AS SSD/HDD Benchmark Thread

Vista? OK, Vista Doesn't have TRIM Support. You'll have to use the Garbage Collection Utility. OCZ recommends you run it at least once a month.
OCZ Technology
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 04-15-2010, 06:16 PM   #68 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
synergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 15 Hive
Posts: 2,284
Send a message via MSN to synergy Send a message via Yahoo to synergy
Default Re: AS SSD/HDD Benchmark Thread

Yea, there's definitely a problem there. You should be way higher than 79 with an SSD. Do as Slaymate suggests and if you are still running slow then I would RMA the drive. You might have a bum controller.
__________________
i7 2600K | TRUE 120 w/ Xigmatek XLF-F1253 | Asus Sabertooth P67 | 16 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX 560Ti | 256 GB Plextor M3 SSD |80 GB Intel X25-M SSD | Corsair Graphite 600T
Coolermaster Purepower 850W | Samsung 25.5" 1920x1200 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit


HTPC: AMD FX-4100 3.6 GHz | Gigabyte GA-880GM mATX w/ ATI Radeon HD 4250 | 8 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
LG Blu-Ray/HD-DVD ROM + DVD RW | 60 GB OCZ Vertex SSD | WD Caviar 1 TB | Antec Veris Fusion Black HTPC Case
Logitech diNovo Edge KB | Win7 Pro 64-bit
3dMark06 23,159 | 3dMark Vantage 23,579 | TF2 Stats Page | BC2 Stats | BF3 Stats
MCSE (SharePoint 2013), MCITP & MCTS (SharePoint 2010), CIW
synergy is offline  
Old 04-15-2010, 06:43 PM   #69 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default Re: AS SSD/HDD Benchmark Thread

Hmmm... I'll mess with it later probably. I just hate going down to the basement to have to do anything with the computer. Not a motivating environment.
__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline  
Old 04-15-2010, 09:38 PM   #70 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default Re: AS SSD/HDD Benchmark Thread

WTH??? Cleaned everything up with the garbage utility, updated to FW 1.5, cleaned up again, cleaned with CC Clean and emptied trash can.. STILL a low score.. I only have 2 games on here and nothing was running when I did this.

CAN you defrag an SSD? Does it DO anything? I'm running in AHCI also. Does your clock effect the results? I'm running a conservative 3.5 now. Does my BOARD (SB) Have something to do with this? SB750...

I don't what these scores posted until I KNOW I've topped out.

__________________

__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Tech Forums Official Crysis [Warhead] GPU Benchmark Thread gurusan Overclocking and Modding 543 03-12-2010 12:32 AM
New & Improved S.T.A.L.K.E.R. Clear Sky Benchmark Thread! gurusan Overclocking and Modding 37 06-01-2009 11:58 PM
Far Cry 2 Benchmark tool thread (post results) stainer711 PC Gaming 0 01-01-2009 12:39 AM
The Tech-Forums OFFICIAL Benchmark Thread gurusan Overclocking and Modding 54 10-30-2008 03:37 AM
Yak thread? nOcLuE98 Forum Admin, Announcements & Feedback 17 02-18-2008 01:45 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.