AS SSD/HDD Benchmark Thread - Page 5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-08-2010, 02:35 PM   #41 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: TF Official AS SSD/HDD Benchmark Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by synergy View Post
Yea, I know and thanks for that, but you haven't been given anything to update

*hint, hint, Puddle*
I got the hint, see the post above you.
__________________

__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 03-08-2010, 02:44 PM   #42 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
synergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 15 Hive
Posts: 2,284
Send a message via MSN to synergy Send a message via Yahoo to synergy
Default Re: AS SSD/HDD Benchmark Thread

I know, but I still gotta give you ****
__________________

__________________
i7 2600K | TRUE 120 w/ Xigmatek XLF-F1253 | Asus Sabertooth P67 | 16 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX 560Ti | 256 GB Plextor M3 SSD |80 GB Intel X25-M SSD | Corsair Graphite 600T
Coolermaster Purepower 850W | Samsung 25.5" 1920x1200 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit


HTPC: AMD FX-4100 3.6 GHz | Gigabyte GA-880GM mATX w/ ATI Radeon HD 4250 | 8 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
LG Blu-Ray/HD-DVD ROM + DVD RW | 60 GB OCZ Vertex SSD | WD Caviar 1 TB | Antec Veris Fusion Black HTPC Case
Logitech diNovo Edge KB | Win7 Pro 64-bit
3dMark06 23,159 | 3dMark Vantage 23,579 | TF2 Stats Page | BC2 Stats | BF3 Stats
MCSE (SharePoint 2013), MCITP & MCTS (SharePoint 2010), CIW
synergy is offline  
Old 03-08-2010, 04:34 PM   #43 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: AS SSD/HDD Benchmark Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by baron5 View Post
Though i'd add this in for kicks. My monster caviar blue IDE got a whopping 11

[11] | baron5 | Western Digital IDE 7200 320GB

monstrous score!
how long did that take you?
Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 03-08-2010, 11:51 PM   #44 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 10
Default Re: AS SSD/HDD Benchmark Thread

Here's mine. The first one is my 1tb Caviar Black for data and the second is my OCZ Vertex SSD for the OS. Idk if these are any good or not.

WD Caviar Black 1tb


OCZ Vertex 30gb ssd


I need to do the 1.5 Firmware and run it again. Also need to do the ssd tweaker too.

EDIT: Do I have to change anything Hardware related to run the firmware update? I read somewhere that my pcu should not be overclocked and I'd have to reset cmos?? I'm not super smart about computers so help me out!!!
cabech984 is offline  
Old 03-09-2010, 09:16 AM   #45 (permalink)
True Techie
 
InsaneJester17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Rhode Island, USA
Posts: 103
Send a message via AIM to InsaneJester17
Default Re: AS SSD/HDD Benchmark Thread

I had to turn off AHCI in the bios to do the update. That was it.

So if your sata is running in AHCI mode, change it back to IDE, then run the update CD or USB you make, and when done don't forget to turn AHCI back on.
InsaneJester17 is offline  
Old 03-09-2010, 03:39 PM   #46 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 311
Default Re: AS SSD/HDD Benchmark Thread

Just so you know InsaneJester17 im fairly sure that TRIM doesn't support AHCI or RAID so if you have either running TRIM won't work.
__________________

- Intel Q6600 G0 @ 3.2Ghz 1.33v -
- G.Skill 4Gb DDR2 @ 1066Mhz 5-5-5-15 -
- XFX 5850 @ Stock -
- Gigabtye GA-G33M-DS2R -
- Intel X-25V 40Gb Solid State -
- Corsair 520HX 520Watts -
- Cooler Master CM690 -
El_Roberto is offline  
Old 03-09-2010, 04:24 PM   #47 (permalink)
True Techie
 
InsaneJester17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Rhode Island, USA
Posts: 103
Send a message via AIM to InsaneJester17
Default Re: AS SSD/HDD Benchmark Thread

That's not correct.

Setting Question TRIM in W7 = AHCI?
InsaneJester17 is offline  
Old 03-09-2010, 04:29 PM   #48 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
synergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 15 Hive
Posts: 2,284
Send a message via MSN to synergy Send a message via Yahoo to synergy
Default Re: AS SSD/HDD Benchmark Thread

TRIM doesn't support RAID, but AHCI and TRIM go hand-in-hand.
__________________
i7 2600K | TRUE 120 w/ Xigmatek XLF-F1253 | Asus Sabertooth P67 | 16 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX 560Ti | 256 GB Plextor M3 SSD |80 GB Intel X25-M SSD | Corsair Graphite 600T
Coolermaster Purepower 850W | Samsung 25.5" 1920x1200 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit


HTPC: AMD FX-4100 3.6 GHz | Gigabyte GA-880GM mATX w/ ATI Radeon HD 4250 | 8 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
LG Blu-Ray/HD-DVD ROM + DVD RW | 60 GB OCZ Vertex SSD | WD Caviar 1 TB | Antec Veris Fusion Black HTPC Case
Logitech diNovo Edge KB | Win7 Pro 64-bit
3dMark06 23,159 | 3dMark Vantage 23,579 | TF2 Stats Page | BC2 Stats | BF3 Stats
MCSE (SharePoint 2013), MCITP & MCTS (SharePoint 2010), CIW
synergy is offline  
Old 03-09-2010, 08:04 PM   #49 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: AS SSD/HDD Benchmark Thread

My Data Drive is a Raid0 array so I have Raid Enabled. But since my SSD is not in a Raid Array TRIM still works.

Here's a simple test to verify if TRIM is working. Run the AS SSD Benchmark as a Base Result. Here I've scored a 184.


Now create a temporary folder on your C: drive, or whatever drive letter is assigned to your SSD. Add a large quanity of files to this folder. I copied all my wallpapers and the contents of my download folder, approximately 5GB. Now run the AS SSD Benchmark again. You'll see my drive speed took a tremondous hit and scores a 146.


Now Delete the Temporary Folder and empty the Recycle Bin. This will force Windows to issue the TRIM command. Run the AS SSD Benchmark again. My drive is now at 185, TRIM is working.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 03-09-2010, 08:08 PM   #50 (permalink)
True Techie
 
InsaneJester17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Rhode Island, USA
Posts: 103
Send a message via AIM to InsaneJester17
Default Re: AS SSD/HDD Benchmark Thread

I'm confused, does your test mean the SSD runs better with less stuff on it?
__________________

InsaneJester17 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Tech Forums Official Crysis [Warhead] GPU Benchmark Thread gurusan Overclocking and Modding 543 03-12-2010 12:32 AM
New & Improved S.T.A.L.K.E.R. Clear Sky Benchmark Thread! gurusan Overclocking and Modding 37 06-01-2009 11:58 PM
Far Cry 2 Benchmark tool thread (post results) stainer711 PC Gaming 0 01-01-2009 12:39 AM
The Tech-Forums OFFICIAL Benchmark Thread gurusan Overclocking and Modding 54 10-30-2008 03:37 AM
Yak thread? nOcLuE98 Forum Admin, Announcements & Feedback 17 02-18-2008 01:45 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.