speedfan, which temp is which? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-15-2006, 02:14 AM   #1 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Question speedfan, which temp is which?

I have just started using speedfan to monitor cpu temps. (tried mbm5, didnt support my board) cause I am overclocking a little bit. but I am not sure what temp is cpu, cause there is temp 1, temp 2, and so on.

I am assuming that temp one is cpu, but when I compare it to my bios "health status" temps they aernt the same, like off by 3 or 4 deg. C??
__________________

__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 07-15-2006, 04:42 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default

wat board u got....
__________________

alexsabree is offline  
Old 07-15-2006, 05:30 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default

i downloaded speed fan but it was rubbish, everytime i closed it down from the system tray it would speed all my fans up to max and the same thing happened when i tried to uninstall it, i thought my pc was gunna blow up it was running that fast! had to restart it to cure it!
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 07-15-2006, 09:38 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default

SpeedFan is complete garbage. It doesn't show ANY of my temps correctly.
WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 07-15-2006, 10:04 AM   #5 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

Then what's a good temp program???
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is online now  
Old 07-15-2006, 10:44 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default

Most all motherboards these days have a temperature program included with their driver CD. I know for sure that all Gigabyte and ASUS motherboards do.
WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 07-15-2006, 11:31 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

Speed fan is a joke.

I use Everest Home Edition, Most people with DFI boards use smart guardian, as I have never got around to doing that.
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 07-15-2006, 11:32 AM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nukem
Then what's a good temp program???
I use everest, seems to show my temps pretty accurate and doesnt screw anything up unlike speedfan
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 07-15-2006, 11:36 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 566
Send a message via AIM to reckliss
Default

lol speed fan has same temps as everest ult. edition for me and i have all fans at 100% so doesnt really matter which one i use. I use everest more cause the gui is better
reckliss is offline  
Old 07-15-2006, 12:14 PM   #10 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

I actually use my own (abit) Uguru... but I'm just trying to help answer the guys question...
__________________

__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is online now  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.