Speedfan readings = / - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-17-2009, 03:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 47
Default Speedfan readings = /

It has been a while since i discovered high temps in Speedfan and ignored them.
I built this a year ago and updated versions of speedfan have not changed the readings since.

My build: Evga 790i extreme (Troublesome board off the bat >.<)
9800gx2
4gig ddr3 1333
9450 2.8 Stable oc at 3.5 (for the most part)
2x500g seagates in raid 0 (also troublesome)
Windows vista ultimate 64bit

Everything seems fine for temps except for system temp which says 86C, and has remained around there forever. My Pc has been 75% stable for the past year or more and has went from crashing on startup/shutdown when i built it because of the faulty bios on the 1.0 board to this day running windows stable and crashing 25% of the time on game startup and occasionally hard-locking with sounds skips in the middle of games. Cpu is idle at 40c on the first two cores, and 28 on the other two if that matters. There is also a reading just below AUX (24c) that just says Temp and it reads 57c and also has a burning symbol.

(edit) Screenie SpeedFan Pic
__________________

melioz is offline  
Old 01-17-2009, 04:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,509
Default Re: Speedfan readings = /

I never trust Speedfan.

Try: CoreTemp, RealTemp, Everest, PC Probe.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 01-17-2009, 04:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: Speedfan readings = /

The Asus Probe II is about the most reliable for a software tool. Some go for PC Wizard while that and the old free version of Everest home edition also have seen times when reporting false high temp readings.

I never fully count on any of them while seeing close matches with the Asus tool and another one called System Info for Windows. SIW | System Information for Windows by Gabriel Topala

That one gives you quite a bit more showing video card temps and voltages along with just about a full breakdown of what programs are installed as well.

The Asus Probe II can be displayed on the desktop like a gadget there. for watching cpu temps. ASUS PC Probe II 1.04.60 download - TechSpot Downloads
eyeCpc is offline  
Old 01-17-2009, 05:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 47
Default Re: Speedfan readings = /

Thank you very much for the help, i am checking out asus probe ATM.
melioz is offline  
Old 01-17-2009, 05:41 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: Speedfan readings = /

That usually works out well in both XP and Vista alike. It won't finish installing on 7 however being a newer version there.

FreeImageHosting.net Hosting Service
eyeCpc is offline  
Old 01-17-2009, 06:26 PM   #6 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,509
Default Re: Speedfan readings = /

Quote:
Originally Posted by eyeCpc View Post
The Asus Probe II is about the most reliable for a software tool. Some go for PC Wizard while that and the old free version of Everest home edition also have seen times when reporting false high temp readings.

I never fully count on any of them while seeing close matches with the Asus tool and another one called System Info for Windows. SIW | System Information for Windows by Gabriel Topala

That one gives you quite a bit more showing video card temps and voltages along with just about a full breakdown of what programs are installed as well.

The Asus Probe II can be displayed on the desktop like a gadget there. for watching cpu temps. ASUS PC Probe II 1.04.60 download - TechSpot Downloads
Very subjective statement, eyeCpc. Probe II won't always be the most reliable, hence why I suggested several kinds.

Suggestion to OP: try out several of the programs mentioned, check the idle temperature. Reboot, and then check the idle temperature that your BIOS reads. Go by the program that was most accurate.

Quote:
Originally Posted by eyeCpc View Post
That usually works out well in both XP and Vista alike. It won't finish installing on 7 however being a newer version there.

FreeImageHosting.net Hosting Service
Compatibility mode? Disable driver signing?
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 01-17-2009, 10:49 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: Speedfan readings = /

For checking accuracy which can vary with any of them your best option is going by the one that stays closest to the actual temps seen in the hardware monitor. But you have to reboot fast and get into the bios before any cool down on you to make a comparison.

The Asus usually turned out the closest here as well as the system info tool seen at the link there. But regardless of which one they are a software not a direct off sensor display.

That wasn't the first thing that wouldn't go on. And I have to expect other things won't either. When and if Asus comes out with a Probe III right about the time 7 is ready then there shouldn't be any problem.
eyeCpc is offline  
Old 01-18-2009, 02:13 AM   #8 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,509
Default Re: Speedfan readings = /

Quote:
Originally Posted by eyeCpc View Post
But you have to reboot fast and get into the bios before any cool down on you to make a comparison.
Why would you need to do that? Just compare idle temps to idle temps. You don't need to compare load to load...
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 01-18-2009, 05:27 AM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: Speedfan readings = /

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
Why would you need to do that? Just compare idle temps to idle temps. You don't need to compare load to load...
The fear by many is you have to reboot fast to get in a look at the monitor in bios when comparing what is seen there to any addon temp utility. If you start suddenly seeing super high temps then that would be one way to see if the program itself is way off.

For simple comparisons? I think you know the answer to that already. Waste of time!
eyeCpc is offline  
Old 01-18-2009, 06:17 AM   #10 (permalink)
Electical Engineer
 
BongWizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: OZ
Posts: 916
Send a message via AIM to BongWizard Send a message via Yahoo to BongWizard
Default Re: Speedfan readings = /

dont trust the BIOS! it measures the temp from a thermistor located under the socket... just grab CoreTemp 0.99.3, as it measures the temp from a temperature diode within the chip... Speedfan gives alot of dummy temps... any of that seem inordinate are probably not real
__________________

__________________

NZXT Lexa BlackLine w/ Red LEDs | Corsair TX-750 | Gigabyte EP45-DS3P | Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 3.6GHz
2x 2GB Kingston HyperX PC2-6400 @ 960MHz (5-4-4-13) | 3x Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB HDD in RAID5
2x HIS Radeon HD 4850 @ 761/1129 in CrossFireX w/ Thermaltake DuOrbs | Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Pro



Got a problem?? Click Here before posting!

BongWizard is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Worrying speedfan readings nukeman8 Overclocking and Modding 9 09-04-2008 04:21 PM
strange temperature readings rblade Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 07-07-2008 03:02 PM
core temp speedfan temp. loc? bkolk Overclocking and Modding 13 07-05-2008 09:25 PM
Fan connector Readings A8N-SLI Premium Brunoboy Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 04-14-2008 03:35 AM
Q6600 - SpeedFan - CPU Twizted_3kgt Overclocking and Modding 8 01-10-2008 07:15 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.