Speedfan - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-14-2006, 10:41 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 994
Send a message via AIM to PoisonPorkchop
Default Speedfan

I need some help with speedfan. It says:

Temp1- 19c
Temp2- 36c
Temp3- 29c
HD0- 27c

I'm assuming Temp 2 is the processor, because it is the highest, and HD0 is teh HDD. What are the other 2? One is probably the Mobo temp, and the other is my GPU, but how can I tell which is which? Also, doesn't 27c seem kinda hot for a hard drive?
__________________

__________________
System
Antec Super Lanboy
AMD 64 3800 S-939 Newcastle
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum
eVGA 6600GT
1.5 GB pc 3200
WD 160 GB IDE
Viewsonic 22\" Widescreen 1680x1050
Logitech MX518
Coming Soon: Athlon 64 4000 San Diego/Z-5500/G7/Vista
PoisonPorkchop is offline  
Old 01-14-2006, 10:59 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 994
Send a message via AIM to PoisonPorkchop
Default

Temp2 is at 38c now
__________________

__________________
System
Antec Super Lanboy
AMD 64 3800 S-939 Newcastle
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum
eVGA 6600GT
1.5 GB pc 3200
WD 160 GB IDE
Viewsonic 22\" Widescreen 1680x1050
Logitech MX518
Coming Soon: Athlon 64 4000 San Diego/Z-5500/G7/Vista
PoisonPorkchop is offline  
Old 01-14-2006, 12:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 994
Send a message via AIM to PoisonPorkchop
Default

Wow. Not a single person willing to give me a simple answer. Thanks guys.
__________________
System
Antec Super Lanboy
AMD 64 3800 S-939 Newcastle
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum
eVGA 6600GT
1.5 GB pc 3200
WD 160 GB IDE
Viewsonic 22\" Widescreen 1680x1050
Logitech MX518
Coming Soon: Athlon 64 4000 San Diego/Z-5500/G7/Vista
PoisonPorkchop is offline  
Old 01-14-2006, 12:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 994
Send a message via AIM to PoisonPorkchop
Default

New reading on temps:

Temp1- 19c
Temp2- 39c
Temp3- 30c
HD0- 31c
__________________
System
Antec Super Lanboy
AMD 64 3800 S-939 Newcastle
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum
eVGA 6600GT
1.5 GB pc 3200
WD 160 GB IDE
Viewsonic 22\" Widescreen 1680x1050
Logitech MX518
Coming Soon: Athlon 64 4000 San Diego/Z-5500/G7/Vista
PoisonPorkchop is offline  
Old 01-14-2006, 12:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Speedfan is most likely the issue as it is quite possibly the worst and least accurate system diagnostic tool availible...you want to use the bios to cross reference temperatures to make sure they're accurate if using 3rd party software if anything

Hard drive temperature rarely becomes an issue especially so long as you have decent cross venting...ideally a fan blowing over drives isn't a bad idea but is not neccesary but a hard has a fairly high thermal threshold and can probably be all right up to 45C although obviously for failure prevention the lower the better



Perhaps next time you can show a bit of patience and wait longer than an hour and half before getting fed up...considering people voluntarily post on this site out of their own free time the least you could do is give them a shred up respect
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 01-14-2006, 12:47 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 378
Default

Temp 1 is probably the system/motherboard/case temperature. That's what it is in mine. Dunno what Temp 3 is. For me, Temp 3 is always 128C, obviously a glitch.

gaara, I didn't know that speedfan was inaccurate. Could you suggest an accurate program?
__________________
ilovesocks is offline  
Old 01-14-2006, 12:50 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

I would use MBM5 if it supports your mobo or everest home edition
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 01-14-2006, 01:04 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 378
Default

Hmm MBM5 doesn't support my motherboard (I have an obscure MSI microATX), but I've got EVEREST. It looks like Speedfan is on the money; the only places I see discrepancies from EVEREST are in the GPU core and GPU ambient temperatures. And EVEREST differs from coolbits for the GPU core. So at least I can depend on Speedfan for CPU, case, and HDD temps. I don't really care what my GPU temps are anyway since they'll probably never overheat.
__________________
ilovesocks is offline  
Old 01-14-2006, 04:45 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

31C in nout for a HDD. mine idles at 55ish, and on large backup jobs has been known to hit 67C
joshd is offline  
Old 01-14-2006, 05:12 PM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: in the past
Posts: 1,144
Send a message via AIM to thebleakness
Default

I dont know how well it really works, but i use NVmonitor. I used Speedfan for alittle while and i got inaccurate temps. But then again i have also heard that the opteron series dont give correct temps with DFIs. Im not really sure but it says 38C almost all the time.
__________________

thebleakness is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.