Speedfan - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-13-2005, 08:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 67
Send a message via AIM to SamLee0519
Default Speedfan

Anyone else having troubles with this? If you don't know what this is, it's a free software that allows you to access the temperatures in your motherboard, CPU, and even hard drive. But everytime I run it, I get to S.M.A.R.T. Enabled, and then my whole computer freezes. It seems to work perfectly for everyone else's computer. But why only mine?

SamLee0519 is offline  
Old 09-13-2005, 09:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 131

i dunno, just hope some amd ppl know, ur little smart *** comment at the bottum of your sig won't encourage any knowledgable intel users who may know the anwser. Since i myself find that comment ignorant.

P4 2.8E @ 3.5Ghz(24/7),3.72Ghz (benchmarking) 1:1
Abit IC7 Max 3
2 X 512mb OCZ PC 3700 dual channel Performance series ram
EVGA 6800GT @ 440mhz/1.2Ghz(24/7), 451/1.23Ghz (max benchable)
2X80 gig SATA RAID 0 drives
SB Audigy 2 24bit
Black X-Blade Gaming Case
Enermax 460 watt PSU
CPU Cooled By: Thermalright Xp 90 + 92 mm panaflo fan
GPU Cooled By: Arctic Cooling Nv Silencer 5 Rev. 2
_OvErClOcKeD_ is offline  
Old 09-13-2005, 10:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 67
Send a message via AIM to SamLee0519

well, most people would agree it's true. With their ridiculous prices and all, but whatever. It's not just that I have an AMD Processor. Everyone else works fine for them, AMD or Intel. I think it may be my motherboard?
SamLee0519 is offline  
Old 09-13-2005, 10:59 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Buffalo, WY, USA
Posts: 226

well S.M.A.R.T. has to do with your HDD so i would gues its something with that, not your mobo. ****, SpeedFan works on my Dell mobo!! But the only thing it shows temps for is my new Seagate HDD hahaha, cheap *** Dell computer has no temp sensors in it!! You could try emailing the maker of the program, he seems like a cool guy that would be willing to help.

I agree with the other guys comment on your sig kinda thou. Praising AMD is fine, but you dont need to go talking **** about Inel, they still make good products. And your just making it worse for yourself trying to get help, intel fans who see that are less likely to help.
Tro1086 is offline  
Old 09-14-2005, 09:55 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 529
Send a message via AIM to alecjahn

Are you sure your drive has SMART?

I dont see any problem with a strong opinion of one mfg over another. Obviously, the problem is created when someone takes it as MORE than an opinion and flame wars are created.

OvErClOcKeD: Bad grammar won't encourange any knowledgable users to take youseriously.
You're the guy from that hamburger train, right?
alecjahn is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:19 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.