Speedfan - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-26-2005, 03:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 821
Default Speedfan

Okay... need a little bit of help with Speedfan if anybody's used it before. First of all, I need to know if making my fans operate at 100% all the time can be bad... and if it isn't bad, then why do they just not run at 100% by default?

Second question is... which temp corresponds to my CPU temperatures? Actually... forget that question and tell me which temp corresponds to what things please. I have Temp1, Temp2, Temp3, Local, Remote, and HD0.

Final question deals with the clock. Is this a page to overclock my things? Also, if it is, it is still better to do it through the BIOS, correct?

Thanks ahead of time.
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ socket 939 @ 2.3 GHz
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum motherboard
EVGA GeForce 6800 GT
2 GB DDR 400 (PC 3200) (2 x 1 GB sticks) (Dual Channel)
DVD player and seperate DVD RW drive
Floppy Drive
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive
500 watt power supply
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech 5.1 surround sound speakers
SAMSUNG SyncMaster 710T LCD monitor
Aspire X Navigator Case
Wayniac is offline  
Old 05-26-2005, 03:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 518
Send a message via AIM to Joeisalsocool
Default

1. They can run at full speed, they're just loud.

2. Stress test your components, you will be able to see which temp coresponds to what.

3. I'd OC though the bios, the creator of speed fan says on the website that, that portion is still a little buggy.
__________________

__________________
Joeisalsocool is offline  
Old 05-26-2005, 03:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 821
Default

This is going to sound really stupid... but how do I stress test each component one at a time to see?
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ socket 939 @ 2.3 GHz
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum motherboard
EVGA GeForce 6800 GT
2 GB DDR 400 (PC 3200) (2 x 1 GB sticks) (Dual Channel)
DVD player and seperate DVD RW drive
Floppy Drive
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive
500 watt power supply
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech 5.1 surround sound speakers
SAMSUNG SyncMaster 710T LCD monitor
Aspire X Navigator Case
Wayniac is offline  
Old 05-26-2005, 03:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 518
Send a message via AIM to Joeisalsocool
Default

Run something that uses high cpu power in the background, and watch the speedfan window, and see which temp rises the fastest.
__________________
Joeisalsocool is offline  
Old 05-26-2005, 03:33 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 821
Default

I want to know what the other things are too... I think I know which temp is the CPU temp though...
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ socket 939 @ 2.3 GHz
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum motherboard
EVGA GeForce 6800 GT
2 GB DDR 400 (PC 3200) (2 x 1 GB sticks) (Dual Channel)
DVD player and seperate DVD RW drive
Floppy Drive
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive
500 watt power supply
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech 5.1 surround sound speakers
SAMSUNG SyncMaster 710T LCD monitor
Aspire X Navigator Case
Wayniac is offline  
Old 05-26-2005, 03:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 821
Default

Ha... I definitely found which temp sensor is for the processor.

Another thing... can I trust that this is accurate? The whole reason I wanted Speedfan to begin with was because my other processor temperature sensing program fluctuated so much, it didn't seem like I was getting an accurate reading. When I had a full load, my one sensor said that it was at 50 c or so, and Speedfan told me it was around 44 c (which honestly, I tend to believe Speedfan a wee bit more).

And once again, how do I find out what the OTHER sensors are for?
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ socket 939 @ 2.3 GHz
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum motherboard
EVGA GeForce 6800 GT
2 GB DDR 400 (PC 3200) (2 x 1 GB sticks) (Dual Channel)
DVD player and seperate DVD RW drive
Floppy Drive
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive
500 watt power supply
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech 5.1 surround sound speakers
SAMSUNG SyncMaster 710T LCD monitor
Aspire X Navigator Case
Wayniac is offline  
Old 05-26-2005, 03:45 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 518
Send a message via AIM to Joeisalsocool
Default

how many do you have
__________________
Joeisalsocool is offline  
Old 05-26-2005, 03:47 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 821
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Wayniac
Temp1, Temp2, Temp3, Local, Remote, and HD0.
So... six. I already found out that Temp2 was the processor, so I need to know what the others are. I'd assume one is the Hard Drive (maybe HD0?), one is for RAM perhaps? Maybe one for the motherboard and one for the graphics card? I don't know...
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ socket 939 @ 2.3 GHz
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum motherboard
EVGA GeForce 6800 GT
2 GB DDR 400 (PC 3200) (2 x 1 GB sticks) (Dual Channel)
DVD player and seperate DVD RW drive
Floppy Drive
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive
500 watt power supply
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech 5.1 surround sound speakers
SAMSUNG SyncMaster 710T LCD monitor
Aspire X Navigator Case
Wayniac is offline  
Old 05-26-2005, 03:50 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 518
Send a message via AIM to Joeisalsocool
Default

so stress the graphics card to see which one that is, there aren't sensors for ram
Watch the local and remote temps, if they fluxuate 10 or 20 degrees every second or so then that means they aren't reading the correct sensor, so you can shut those off.
I would say that 1 is the motherboard, 2 is the cpu, 3 is the gpu, and hd0 is the hard drive.
__________________
Joeisalsocool is offline  
Old 05-26-2005, 03:55 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 821
Default

Temp1 generally stays around 19 c, so I think you're right with saying it is the motherboard. Temp3 is generally about 32 c or so, so I'd also say you're right about the graphics card. HD0 I would assume is the hard drive.

This leaves local and remote. Neither of them change a lot. Local stays around 40 c and remote stays around 33 c. I have absolutely NO idea what they're for though.
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ socket 939 @ 2.3 GHz
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum motherboard
EVGA GeForce 6800 GT
2 GB DDR 400 (PC 3200) (2 x 1 GB sticks) (Dual Channel)
DVD player and seperate DVD RW drive
Floppy Drive
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive
500 watt power supply
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech 5.1 surround sound speakers
SAMSUNG SyncMaster 710T LCD monitor
Aspire X Navigator Case
Wayniac is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.