speed me up! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-26-2005, 05:08 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 327
Default speed me up!

mmm my comp is lagging a bit....kinda.
wondering if people could post tips on how to generally speed ur pc up.
__________________

__________________
gimli of gloin is offline  
Old 08-26-2005, 03:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 158
Default

Biggest thing to do is a reformat and fresh install of the OS, then add the current drivers.

Even on ancient pcs, a fresh install with new drivers can make a world of difference.
__________________

sCribes is offline  
Old 08-26-2005, 03:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 405
Send a message via AIM to BxSlipSk8718 Send a message via Yahoo to BxSlipSk8718
Default

Yep Re-install I think i reinstall xp to often on avrg about 5 times a month lol thats cuz im always messing it up
__________________
My Box :D

- Antec P180 Xcloid 450watt PSU
- DFI LANPARTY nF4 SLI-DR
- Amd 64 Venice Core 939 3000+
- AOpen 6800GT PCI-e Stock
- 1Gig (512x2) Geil Ultra 2-3-3-4
- 250gigx2 Raid 0 Striping SATAII 16mb cache

Is Gangsta
BxSlipSk8718 is offline  
Old 08-26-2005, 04:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Yep, I agree, reformat, and a BIG one for you would to be adding another 512mb RAM
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 08-26-2005, 11:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

agreed with all. add another 512MB RAM (to get dual channel also)
and format, to get rid of the crap Windows has accumulated over the years.
also, if you are okay with it, try overclocking the CPU
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 08-26-2005, 11:33 PM   #6 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

I guess I'm the desenting vote.

Reinstallation should be a last resort. There are several things to try first.

Uninstall any unused apps on your hard drive, for starters.

Clean up your registry. Try TweakNow (http://www.majorgeeks.com/TweakNow_R...ner_d4134.html)

Defrag your hard drive.

Use the System Configuration Utility to speed up your system and your start-ups. Click Start, Run, 'msconfig', Startup tab. Uncheck everything but what you absolutely must have (firewall, AV, graphics drivers, whatever). Click Apply, OK, and reboot. A grey box will pop up on startup. Check the Do Not Run on Startup and you're in business.

Try those and see if it doesn't help out your rig.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.