Speed Fan - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-09-2005, 06:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 994
Send a message via AIM to PoisonPorkchop
Default Speed Fan

I just downloaded speed fan and installed it, but I can't figure out which temps are which.

There is Temp1, Temp2, and Temp3, and then HD0, which I assume is the HDD. Also, there is a little icon next to each of them. Sometimes it is a green check, sometimes it is a blue arrow pointing down. What do these mean? And finally, It shows I have 3 fans, but the 3rd one says 0 rpm. I only have 2 case fans so I assume it can monitor up to 3, but since I don't have a 3rd case fan, it says 0rpm. How can I find out which fan is which?

Thanks!
__________________

__________________
System
Antec Super Lanboy
AMD 64 3800 S-939 Newcastle
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum
eVGA 6600GT
1.5 GB pc 3200
WD 160 GB IDE
Viewsonic 22\" Widescreen 1680x1050
Logitech MX518
Coming Soon: Athlon 64 4000 San Diego/Z-5500/G7/Vista
PoisonPorkchop is offline  
Old 12-09-2005, 11:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Vero Beach, FL
Posts: 205
Send a message via AIM to RadRacer
Default

Temp 1 is most likely your CPU. The HD0 is your HDD I believe, like you said. The icons are set according to your preferences. A green check means thats the current temp and it's not too hot. A flame means it's too hot. A red arrow means it's getting hotter and blue means it's getting colder. As for the fans, try turning one down and see which one it does it too. Then you'll know which is which. If you couldn't tell, I too use SpeedFan
__________________

__________________
Old Specs:
Intel Celeron D 2.8Ghz
1G RAM
80G Seagate Baracuda 7200.7
GeForce FX5500 (PCI) OCed to 300/500
am I missing anything?

^DEAD^

Now: Toshiba Sattelite L35-S2161 running Ubuntu :)
RadRacer is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 01:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 994
Send a message via AIM to PoisonPorkchop
Default

I tried turning down the rpm to like %80 and then it just dropped to 0 rpms, but all the fans were still spinning.
__________________
System
Antec Super Lanboy
AMD 64 3800 S-939 Newcastle
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum
eVGA 6600GT
1.5 GB pc 3200
WD 160 GB IDE
Viewsonic 22\" Widescreen 1680x1050
Logitech MX518
Coming Soon: Athlon 64 4000 San Diego/Z-5500/G7/Vista
PoisonPorkchop is offline  
Old 12-13-2005, 08:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Vero Beach, FL
Posts: 205
Send a message via AIM to RadRacer
Default

Click the little arrows next to the RPM to turn it down by 5%.
__________________
Old Specs:
Intel Celeron D 2.8Ghz
1G RAM
80G Seagate Baracuda 7200.7
GeForce FX5500 (PCI) OCed to 300/500
am I missing anything?

^DEAD^

Now: Toshiba Sattelite L35-S2161 running Ubuntu :)
RadRacer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.