Southridge cooling - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-25-2004, 03:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 101
Send a message via Yahoo to Effex
Default Southridge cooling

should i install a heatsink on it when my case has 5 fans?

i will be oc'ing the northbridge

this is on an AXP-M 2600+

Effex is offline  
Old 12-25-2004, 04:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default Re: Southridge cooling

Originally posted by Effex
should i install a heatsink on it when my case has 5 fans?

i will be oc'ing the northbridge

this is on an AXP-M 2600+
what voltage will you plan on running NB at? I ran mine at 2.0v and it SB was 50C+, definetly need cooling when overclocking FSB. Passive might cut it for stock voltages and board limits, but past that a big active NB and SB is what you need.



I already have the SB one, hopefully will be able to purchase one of those 2 NB's.

<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
4W4K3 is offline  
Old 12-25-2004, 05:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Nubius's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600

I'm freakin scared to raise my NB though. Like I said last time I raised it by the smallest increment it fried my RAM. Granted it was kingston value ram and the next time I plan on OC'ing RAM will be if I can manage to get that OCZ platinum rev2 sticks..

Any idea why it would have fried that RAM 4W4K3? And it sucks I can't get NB and SB temps...even on speedfan depending on the sensor I choose it shows either -47C, 48C, or I have no idea what it's reading from.

I think my RAM was like at 215MHz and I tried loosening the timings but no matter what it got errors, so I upped the NB voltage cause you said it could be holding you back and next thing I knew the RAM did over 100,000 errors =/

I asked a couple people who have OC'd their RAM and said that upping the NB wasn't necessary, but I haven't been able to find any good RAM OC'ing articles
Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:18 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.