Sound card increasing FPS? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-20-2006, 07:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 213
Default Sound card increasing FPS?

I'm on the xfire website and looking at a sound card sweepstakes and It says "experience an FPS increase of over xx%!!" Im confused will upgrading from onboard sound to a pci sound card make a difference?
__________________

__________________
Athlon X2 Brisbane 3600+ @ 2.91Ghz
Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro
Biostar TForce 550
2GB Wintec AMPO DDR667 @ 831Mhz
Connect3D X1900GT Rev.2 580/1602
Hitachi Deskstar 80gb SATA + 80gb WD Caviar IDE
Fortron FSP Group 400W (18A/16A 12V)
http://service.futuremark.com/orb/re...=0&UID=9889664
5122 in 3DMark06
rx7i2 is offline  
Old 03-20-2006, 07:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 172
Send a message via AIM to BillGates
Default

I think the theory behind that is it takes the strain off of the motherboard since the sound card will be processing the sound. Don't know if it's true though.
__________________

BillGates is offline  
Old 03-20-2006, 07:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
boomstick666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 743
Default

its very true. but the amount of strain on CPU vary. any sound card w/ on board DSP (digital signal processing) use less to close to none CPU power. especially on recording and digital effect processing, on board DSP is very important. just like GPU. but for games, there arent so much processing is going on anyway compared to real recording, it wont affect to FPS that much. but it still is better to process sound seperately than only using CPU for everything. like if u r using AEX effects in game, the sound card is processing the sound. (or reverb sound when u go in to cave and stuff like that. digital reverb effect consumes a lot of processing power.)
__________________
i5 2500K @ 4.8GHz 1.384v - AsRock P67 Extreme4 B3 BIOS 1.90
G.Skill Ripjaws X DDR3 PC12800 2x4GB @ 1866 9-10-9-28 1T 1.590v
EVGA GTX 570HD SC 930/1950 1.100v
Crucial M4 SSD 128GB - OCZ 700W PSU (4x18A) - Noctua NH-D14 (BM120mm x Noctua140mm)
Corsair 600T SE White - Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit SP1 - Mitsubishi DiamondPro2070sb (CRT!)

3DMark11 P7089 | 3DMark Vantage P26383
boomstick666 is offline  
Old 03-20-2006, 07:59 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 213
Default

what if im upgrading with a top-of-the-line 7.1 sound card?
Does it depend on the CPU on how much stress it puts into it?
__________________
Athlon X2 Brisbane 3600+ @ 2.91Ghz
Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro
Biostar TForce 550
2GB Wintec AMPO DDR667 @ 831Mhz
Connect3D X1900GT Rev.2 580/1602
Hitachi Deskstar 80gb SATA + 80gb WD Caviar IDE
Fortron FSP Group 400W (18A/16A 12V)
http://service.futuremark.com/orb/re...=0&UID=9889664
5122 in 3DMark06
rx7i2 is offline  
Old 03-20-2006, 08:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
boomstick666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 743
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by rx7i2
what if im upgrading with a top-of-the-line 7.1 sound card?
Does it depend on the CPU on how much stress it puts into it?
ok. here is the thing. any top of the line sound card is for recording. not for playn back 7.1 or entertainment purpose. so if u want just surround sound, get anything that does it. its basically a card capable of 8 channel playback (7.1=8channels of audio) + if u want good sound for games, get something that supports AEX 5.0 (x-fi series is the only card right now supports it). but anyway, ull see 0.5 to 1 FPS gain from sound card if u r lucky. its not big at all u know. since all the graphix r now processed by GPU mostly. not the CPU.
__________________
i5 2500K @ 4.8GHz 1.384v - AsRock P67 Extreme4 B3 BIOS 1.90
G.Skill Ripjaws X DDR3 PC12800 2x4GB @ 1866 9-10-9-28 1T 1.590v
EVGA GTX 570HD SC 930/1950 1.100v
Crucial M4 SSD 128GB - OCZ 700W PSU (4x18A) - Noctua NH-D14 (BM120mm x Noctua140mm)
Corsair 600T SE White - Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit SP1 - Mitsubishi DiamondPro2070sb (CRT!)

3DMark11 P7089 | 3DMark Vantage P26383
boomstick666 is offline  
Old 03-20-2006, 08:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

search next time....

http://www.techist.com/showthread.ph...716&highlight=
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 03-21-2006, 02:22 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

well, even using a card drops the framerate. when using 3dmark03, the difference between framerates on the no sounds, 12 hw voices and 64 hw voices is quite significant.
joshd is offline  
Old 03-21-2006, 03:10 AM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

if you have sounds on, they use CPU time.

better sound cards will take more load off the CPU.

the Sound Blaster X-Fi cards take most of the load off the CPU
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-22-2006, 12:42 AM   #9 (permalink)
Systems Engineer
 
Crysalis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 1,675
Send a message via AIM to Crysalis
Default

If you dare think about getting the X-FI....


Read from the second page about half way down to the third page.

http://techist.com/showthread.php?s=...5&pagenumber=2


X-FI has nothing but a compression and EQ circuit that makes you THINK it sounds better, but it doesn't.... by far. It actually just adds distortion which in turn, is bad for your speakers if you have a good system.

This is my source:

http://www.digit-life.com/articles2/...-fi-part2.html
__________________
I have a computer with stuff in it.
Crysalis is offline  
Old 03-22-2006, 01:29 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
boomstick666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 743
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Crysalis
If you dare think about getting the X-FI....


Read from the second page about half way down to the third page.

http://techist.com/showthread.php?s=...5&pagenumber=2


X-FI has nothing but a compression and EQ circuit that makes you THINK it sounds better, but it doesn't.... by far. It actually just adds distortion which in turn, is bad for your speakers if you have a good system.

This is my source:

http://www.digit-life.com/articles2/...-fi-part2.html
well. i have x-fi and i like it for games. but ya the part it "makes the sound better than original/cd quality" or w/e they are saying is lie. sound can be as close as the original. but it never gets better than the original. btw, my 24-bit crystalizer is off. i personaly dont want my sound to be "crystalized". it hurts. but hey its only $100. great for games. if i had money, i would get apogee or mytek d/a and mcintosh amp w/nice set of proac speakers. but..at least i still got my ns-10...
__________________

__________________
i5 2500K @ 4.8GHz 1.384v - AsRock P67 Extreme4 B3 BIOS 1.90
G.Skill Ripjaws X DDR3 PC12800 2x4GB @ 1866 9-10-9-28 1T 1.590v
EVGA GTX 570HD SC 930/1950 1.100v
Crucial M4 SSD 128GB - OCZ 700W PSU (4x18A) - Noctua NH-D14 (BM120mm x Noctua140mm)
Corsair 600T SE White - Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit SP1 - Mitsubishi DiamondPro2070sb (CRT!)

3DMark11 P7089 | 3DMark Vantage P26383
boomstick666 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.