Something is wrong with my CPU core speed being display correctly - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-13-2010, 07:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Something is wrong with my CPU core speed being display correctly

I updated BIOS back in June n that kind of messed up system configurations but even before that, in BIOS it tells me, when i put everything in default settings, 3.2GHz when really it's 3.0GHz. I already used IBT on stock n im fully stable. I'm currently at 3.2GHz, according to BIOS and my Windows Gadget. CPU-Z tells me im at 3.4GHz. Isn't that wierd? I mean, when i OCed at 3.489MHz thru BIOS, CPU-Z must be like 3.689MHz or something! Which one is right? Plus at 3.4GHz thru BIOS, my PC gets the annoying 0x00000124 error once in a while, so im trying to pin point it out.

What do u guys think i should trust? CPU-Z, BIOS?
__________________

__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 11-13-2010, 09:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Default Re: Something is wrong with my CPU core speed being display correctly

BIOS should be accurate. Do you have Cool'n'Quiet enabled?

Here's a read regarding the 0x124 error:
Bug Check 0x124: WHEA_UNCORRECTABLE_ERROR
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 11-14-2010, 05:00 AM   #3 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: Something is wrong with my CPU core speed being display correctly

No i do not have Cool N' Quiet enabled. I'll look into this more later.

UPDATE:

Well CPU-Z is showing the correct CPU speed now. Currently 3.2GHz. I will be slowly OCing until i find that error breaking point.
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel Pentium Dual Core E2200 - Wrong CPU Bus Speed?? RaptorX Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 04-23-2009 03:28 PM
core i7 does not display cpu speed in windows...why? rave_tech New Systems | Building and Buying 52 12-12-2008 12:00 AM
Wrong CPU speed on CPU-Z sedka Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 09-12-2007 11:02 PM
More 6800GS troubleshooting, my core clock speed, and pci speed questions... quiq Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 11 01-27-2006 11:32 PM
Wrong CPU Speed DartGawd501 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 01-11-2006 03:03 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.