Something just went wrong! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-16-2007, 11:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Exclamation Something just went wrong!

Alright, I finished downloading Primer35, ran it and it just restarted my computer. While turning on the computer a message comes up saying,"A 266MHz system bus processor is installed. This processor is not supported on this system board and will run at reduced processor clock speed. System performance will be impacted." Then the next page of BIOS, something comes up saying NTLDR is missing, hold Ctrl+Alt+Del to restart. Help me please! I will check this thread back in 5-10 minutes.
__________________

__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 07-16-2007, 11:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Something just went wrong!

How far did you overclock it? It's probably unstable. So what you would have to do, is increase the voltage on the vcore, by one notch.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 07-16-2007, 11:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 17
Default Re: Something just went wrong!

i just googled NTLDR btw i think you made a typo you messed up the D and the L. i found this tread on a different forum that should be helpful "NTDLR" is missing

good luck
...forest
forest is offline  
Old 07-16-2007, 11:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Something just went wrong!

NTLDR is missing

this is part of forest's post that i think will help you.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 07-17-2007, 12:25 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Something just went wrong!

More help needed please! b1gapl is helping my a lot but I need the T-F community as well! Come on you OCers! Help me!
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 07-17-2007, 12:25 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
nu2duo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Neza
Posts: 423
Default Re: Something just went wrong!

IMO, it's time to reinstall windows.
__________________
e6600@3.1 24/7 w/stock cooling. 2g Transcend Memory
3 hd's, 80-XP Pro, 500 and 320-Apps,Pics, Music, Videos
ATI Radeon HD 3450 512MB-I DON'T GAME!
Ultra PS, Ultra Mid Tower Case
Lite-on internal DVD-R, Samsung Lite-Scribe Ext. DVD-R
2 Acer 19" widescreen LCD's. For HTPC Olevia 32" LCD
nu2duo is offline  
Old 07-17-2007, 12:26 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Something just went wrong!

It's a newly built computer. Barely 3 weeks old.
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 07-17-2007, 12:35 AM   #8 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Something just went wrong!

let's all admit its the ecs board problem
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 07-17-2007, 12:36 AM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Something just went wrong!

Lol peter! Yeah probably is, b1g and I just got my Windows setup to start working! Lets all cross our fingers, toes, and eyes! Haha!
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 07-17-2007, 12:39 AM   #10 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Something just went wrong!

read the article that we posted.
basically i agree that you should probably re-install windows. try it and see. calm down.

Computer is booting from a non-bootable source.
Computer hard disk drive is not properly setup in BIOS.
Corrupt NTLDR and/or NTDETECT.COM file.
Misconfiguration with the boot.ini file.
Attempting to upgrade from a Windows 95, 98, or ME computer that is using FAT32.
New hard disk drive being added.
Corrupt boot sector / master boot record.
**BING BING BING**Seriously corrupted version of Windows 2000 or Windows XP.**BING BING BING**...ie seriously unstable overclock...start over dude.
Loose or Faulty IDE/EIDE hard disk drive cable.


also, i notice the hard drive parts of this list...for my own knowledge (pardon my ignorance, hdd not my strong points)...what is an SATA "compatible" hard drive?
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Memory frequency wrong Mike9182 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 06-14-2007 04:40 PM
HD-DVD+PowerDVD Ultra+ 8800 GTX... What's wrong?!?! teddyn Microsoft Windows and Software 2 06-06-2007 03:21 PM
i think i've picked the wrong course... derekrules Technology Careers and Education 6 05-29-2007 04:16 PM
WTF is wrong with you people???? Osiris Off Topic Discussion 20 05-14-2007 11:37 AM
Wrong encoding of downloaded items memo_9000 Internet Software and Browsers 0 03-29-2007 10:08 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.