Someone please tell me what NATIVE 720 support means - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-04-2005, 11:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 61
Send a message via AIM to enGRAVEr
Default Someone please tell me what NATIVE 720 support means

My MB says it supports ddr 667/533/400, then on the next line states NATIVE 720. When it reffers to the native 720, exactly what is it stating.

I am running the ram @ 533, but would like to ramp it up to at least 667. Or, if the ram can take it up to 700 or 720. I have looked on the manufacturers site and they say all kinds of nice things both on the MB and Mem sites, and yes, I have contacted the RAM website for help. I just have not heard anything back from them yet.

Any help appreciated.

I have had one response that said the ram supported either 533 OR 700, but is this to say that nothing in between? I really do not want to mess around in BIOS too much without knowing what it is I am setting as the system is stable right now and scores and performs well.
__________________

__________________
enGRAVEr

*VIPER ATX Case; *Gigabyte GA-8N Quad Royal; *P-4 3.73 Ex. Ed.; *2 GB Patriot DDR2 533 Dual CH; *2x BFG GF 6800 GToc (SLI); *(3) SATA 250 GB (1)WD (2) Maxtor; *SeaSonic S-12 600watt; *DL DVD Burner; *54x DVD/CD Rom
Test Scores: AquaMark3 GFX-12003, CPU-11602, Total-79109; *01-25290/*03-20444/*05-8346; SupePI-33 Secs @ 1Mb,*HSF-VapoChill Micro.
enGRAVEr is offline  
Old 07-05-2005, 12:07 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

of course it'll support the speeds in between...it's just giving you the stock and max manufacturer guaranteed speeds.

Don't know what it's specifically meaning by 'native' unless it just means that's what the board was made to run at or something
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 07-05-2005, 12:12 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 61
Send a message via AIM to enGRAVEr
Default

As mentioned, I have already contacted the MB and Mem manufacturer and asked them how to get this ram set to at least the 667 mark. Just have not heard anything from them.

I prefer to not unlock anything other than what I must to get the ram up. When I get the info on this I will put it in here.

It does not seem that too many people are using this board. Well, hopefully someone is that has gotten the speed I want.
__________________
enGRAVEr

*VIPER ATX Case; *Gigabyte GA-8N Quad Royal; *P-4 3.73 Ex. Ed.; *2 GB Patriot DDR2 533 Dual CH; *2x BFG GF 6800 GToc (SLI); *(3) SATA 250 GB (1)WD (2) Maxtor; *SeaSonic S-12 600watt; *DL DVD Burner; *54x DVD/CD Rom
Test Scores: AquaMark3 GFX-12003, CPU-11602, Total-79109; *01-25290/*03-20444/*05-8346; SupePI-33 Secs @ 1Mb,*HSF-VapoChill Micro.
enGRAVEr is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.