Some Upgrades:D - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-16-2006, 08:37 PM   #11 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Default

The Shark is said to be a truly awesome case. Lots of room.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 04-16-2006, 09:38 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Ridlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920
Default

I Personally like the Tt Armor Silver.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811133155
__________________

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Old 04-16-2006, 11:23 PM   #13 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

oh GOD ****! before i new anything about OCing Ram u guys told me that it was ok to get ddr500 and told me all this gibberish but i think i get it now.

When u install the ram it will downclock to 400, am i right? but when u OC ur CPU, and since ur divider is set to 1:1 u can oc ur CPU 50Mhz, and the ram can do the same since its limit is 250MHz not 200Mhz, so only after it reaches 250 would u need to change the divider or OC the ram by increasing the voltage. Am i right? and this allows u to OC ur CPU more than u would be able to with a ddr400 ram? am i getting it?
john3 is offline  
Old 04-17-2006, 01:21 AM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 135
Default

what kind of trouble did you have with your tsunami? i havent had anythign wrong with mine.
Maxx is offline  
Old 04-17-2006, 01:40 AM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

Quote:
When u install the ram it will downclock to 400, am i right? but when u OC ur CPU, and since ur divider is set to 1:1 u can oc ur CPU 50Mhz, and the ram can do the same since its limit is 250MHz not 200Mhz, so only after it reaches 250 would u need to change the divider or OC the ram by increasing the voltage. Am i right? and this allows u to OC ur CPU more than u would be able to with a ddr400 ram? am i getting it?
thats basically it except you would be overclocking your cpu by a lot more than 50mhz, it would be the FSB/HTT that is overclocked by 50mhz
Nitestick is offline  
Old 04-17-2006, 11:38 AM   #16 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

so its the 50mhz FSBX the multiplier and u get how much MHz u increased it by. YES, YES! I SEE THE LIGHT! IT BURNS!!!!!
john3 is offline  
Old 04-18-2006, 03:42 PM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Maxx
what kind of trouble did you have with your tsunami? i havent had anythign wrong with mine.
i had major trouble getting my PSU in cause its so huge and theres not enough room because of the top thing... (USB FIREWIRE ect.) i had to remove that. but other than that, nothin.... it scratches very easily and shows fingerprints
__________________
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Old 04-18-2006, 03:43 PM   #18 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default

sorry for the double post, but i just got my stuff today ( i got the OCZ ram because i've had OCZ for a long time and i like them ). the only thing i'm not sure about is installing the VGA cooler, just remove the stock one, put a dab of AS5 on the core and then put the HS/F oN? and is it possible to remove that pad on my CPU HS/F and put some AS5 on? what should i use to remove that pad? a card maybe?
__________________
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Old 04-18-2006, 04:01 PM   #19 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

A lint-free cloth and some rubbing alcohol

Oh man your rig almost beats mines, 3700+ vs Opty 170 and 7800GTX vs 7800GT
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 04-18-2006, 05:41 PM   #20 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by PZEROFGH
A lint-free cloth and some rubbing alcohol

Oh man your rig almost beats mines, 3700+ vs Opty 170 and 7800GTX vs 7800GT
ok i've got plenty of those..... and i just ordered an x-fi by the way pzero and when i get my new CPU cooler (ooooooohhhhhnnnnage)

__________________

__________________
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.