Some P4 and Celeron overclocking - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-01-2008, 11:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,958
Send a message via AIM to Burn
Default Some P4 and Celeron overclocking

so i got this computer from my dads work, and decided to put my old P4's to work. this is what i got







__________________

Burn is offline  
Old 06-02-2008, 12:00 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
illnastyimpreza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 411
Default Re: Some P4 and Celeron overclocking

niiiiiiiiiiiice dude

I'm just about to see if I can break 3.0 with my p4 2.4

any tips ? I have never overclocked the CPU before, only the GPU...

how exactly do I go a bout modding voltages and whatnot in the bios ??

would it be easier to use a program ?
__________________

illnastyimpreza is offline  
Old 06-02-2008, 12:13 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,958
Send a message via AIM to Burn
Default Re: Some P4 and Celeron overclocking

I would (and probably most everyone on the forum) advise you not to use a program, using the BIOS is always the best option. As for modding voltages and what not, there is usually a place in the BIOS under advanced options, you'll just have to look around and find it. Thanks for the compliment, ill try to break 4.3 and post some screenies
Burn is offline  
Old 06-02-2008, 12:19 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
illnastyimpreza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 411
Default Re: Some P4 and Celeron overclocking

the only reason I would use the program is because I really have no idea what I'm doing.

I understand I have to simply raise the power going to each core. there are 4 of them on my P4 correct ? any rule of thumb to start ? Don't go more than 15% on each one ?

do I just modify the voltage to each core, and thats it ? do I have to raise fan speed or mess with anything else ??

I'm gona restart and see if I can even figure out how to get to the bios options to do this now
illnastyimpreza is offline  
Old 06-02-2008, 12:23 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,958
Send a message via AIM to Burn
Default Re: Some P4 and Celeron overclocking

first off, there is only one core on P4's lol. and you dont want to increase voltage unless you have too (if its not stable/crashes). Before i can answer many more of your questions, what motherboard do you have?
Burn is offline  
Old 06-02-2008, 12:28 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
illnastyimpreza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 411
Default Re: Some P4 and Celeron overclocking

Intel Cannonville D845PECE
illnastyimpreza is offline  
Old 06-02-2008, 12:46 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,958
Send a message via AIM to Burn
Default Re: Some P4 and Celeron overclocking

Is this the gateway you were speaking of in the other post?
Burn is offline  
Old 06-02-2008, 02:05 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
illnastyimpreza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 411
Default Re: Some P4 and Celeron overclocking

yeah it is...

If my bios is locked... is there another version I can reflash it with ???

or am I stuck using a program to overclock ?
__________________

illnastyimpreza is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.