Some overclocking help... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-19-2007, 02:06 AM   #1 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,508
Default Some overclocking help...

Ok, I have an e6750 which I'm overclocking right now (posting this on a laptop right now). I managed to get it stable/pass with Orthos at these settings:

FSB: 421
Voltage: 1.35 (default)
CPU Clock: ended up being 3488MHz
Temps: Idle - 23, Load - 58

Ok, so I attempted to push the FSB up to 436, but I got an error in Orthos on Core#1 (my 2nd core) after 3 seconds. So I decided to go try to change the voltage up 1 notch, up to 1.35625v, but I still got the error after 3 seconds in Orthos. Also, when I upped the voltage/went to load Windows, after the loading screen Chkdisk started to run and did tests (is this normal? Not sure if it is...but I was able to boot into Windows fine after it got done running Chkdisk/restarted). So then I decided to revert back down to the last stable reading I had, and Orthos didn't yell at me this time after 3 seconds.

So here's my question: Should I try to take the FSB back up to 436, and up the voltage 1 notch at a time until I stop getting errors with Orthos? Or is that dangerous?

Thanks for the help guys, I appreciate it. And also, mind you, this is my first time overclocking =).
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 10-19-2007, 02:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: Some overclocking help...

Wow 35 degrees difference from idle to load? Your comp shouldnt run hotter than 50C if its idle is really 23C.

Idle should be when your computer has been running for 1 hour and not at full load. Sometimes when your computer has been off for a while, and when you turn it on, the CPU temp is really low but slowly climbs up as time passes. So the idle temp is when your computer is just sitting there and its temperature is no longer climbing or dropping.
__________________

__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Old 10-19-2007, 02:09 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Some overclocking help...

Vcore is the main item to be concerned about. Try bumping the Vcore up one notch every time it fails a test. At a certain point you can then play with MCH, FSB and RAM Voltages.
Thought, right off, I suggest RAm Voltage to be + .2, PCIE to be defualt, MCH to be +.1 and FSB to be +.1

Also, set orthos priority to 10 and use Small FFT test.
Ste is offline  
Old 10-19-2007, 02:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Some overclocking help...

You probably just need more voltage to the vcore. Since you have a DS3R motherboard, set the FSB and Chipset voltages to +0.1v to help with the stability. And make sure you RAM voltage is correct, at it's stock. Since you have G. Skill the default is 2.0-2.1, so set the DDR2 Overvoltage to +0.3v

edit: Ste beat me to it. Same time stamp too.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 10-19-2007, 02:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Some overclocking help...

Also, to begin, set your RAM to be at a 1 to 1 ratio with the FSB, once you find your max stable clock you can play with memory settings more.

Also Number 2: Although Orthos priority 10 on small FFT is an intense test, the true test of stability is the ability to run SMP folding for an indefinite amount of time.
Ste is offline  
Old 10-19-2007, 04:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,508
Default Re: Some overclocking help...

@pinoy: I usually keep my comp on quite a bit, so it'll be running at 23 when I go to check it after like when I get home from school (because I usually turn it on either before I go to school or when I come home for lunch). BIOS also says it's 23. It'll vary from 23-25 at times, though. I've been using CoreTemp to read my temps, as well.

Already have the FSB/MCH to .1+ voltage. I'll try setting the RAM overvoltage/making sure it's at stock voltage. RAM's already at a 1:1 ratio (checked in Everest).

Thanks for the help guys, I appreciate it. I'll mess w/ this stuff after I get home from work tonight.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
An Extensive Guide: Maximizing Performance, Minimizing Budget Sora New Systems | Building and Buying 42 08-23-2008 06:35 PM
UnBiased Intel Core 2 Duo Overclocking with Overclocking Test Systems veg1992 Overclocking and Modding 7 11-21-2007 07:24 PM
Overclocking questions 101 lafguy81 Overclocking and Modding 29 10-23-2007 10:44 AM
Overclocking my new AM2 6000+ Lord Lihp Overclocking and Modding 16 08-18-2007 10:37 AM
ASUS Announces Hardware Based Real-time Overclocking Device Osiris Overclocking and Modding 2 07-06-2007 11:44 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.