Some ATI Crossfire AMD System Overclock Suggestions. - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-25-2010, 06:11 PM   #21 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 18
Default Re: Some ATI Crossfire AMD System Overclock Suggestions.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Waynehead View Post
I would think your gpu could be clocked alittle higher and Im sure your cpu can. I am running a gigabyte mobo or I would give you a step by step. I have my 955be running at 3.8 on stock cooler and my intergrated hd4200 clocked at 900mhz.
Thats about what i was planing to do. So i installed amd overdrive and just to be sure before i do it. Im increasing the core multiplier from 17x to 19x which gives 3800 MHz which = 3.8 GHz CPU? Is there anything else that needs adjusting in the CPU? and i did increase the GPU from 850 to 900 but am noticing some slower framerates. Any reason why?
__________________

Darkfalz is offline  
Old 03-25-2010, 06:28 PM   #22 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Some ATI Crossfire AMD System Overclock Suggestions.

The ATI 5000 series graphics cards will drop to a lower speed and power state if it thinks the GPU or power draw is being stressed too much.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-25-2010, 06:54 PM   #23 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 18
Default Re: Some ATI Crossfire AMD System Overclock Suggestions.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apokalipse View Post
The ATI 5000 series graphics cards will drop to a lower speed and power state if it thinks the GPU or power draw is being stressed too much.
any way to get around that then?
Darkfalz is offline  
Old 03-25-2010, 07:06 PM   #24 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Some ATI Crossfire AMD System Overclock Suggestions.

What were you testing it with?
also, you might want to try MSI afterburner to increase the GPU volts.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-25-2010, 10:05 PM   #25 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 18
Default Re: Some ATI Crossfire AMD System Overclock Suggestions.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apokalipse View Post
What were you testing it with?
also, you might want to try MSI afterburner to increase the GPU volts.
At this point I think its more of a hassle than what its worth. I think ill just stick with what I have and just work with it. Although I suppose i could try it...if i was considering boosting the GPU to 900 and CPU to 3.8, what kind of voltages will i need? The msi program isnt allowing me to adjust some values and isnt showing my drivers. Guessing that my card isnt comaptible with it.
Darkfalz is offline  
Old 03-25-2010, 10:13 PM   #26 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Some ATI Crossfire AMD System Overclock Suggestions.

If the CPU is running fine at 3.8GHz without increasing the volts, then it's probably a C3 stepping chip. You could probably run it at 4GHz with 1.5V
C2 stepping chips usually need 1.5V for 3.8GHz
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-27-2010, 01:43 AM   #27 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 18
Default Re: Some ATI Crossfire AMD System Overclock Suggestions.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apokalipse View Post
If the CPU is running fine at 3.8GHz without increasing the volts, then it's probably a C3 stepping chip. You could probably run it at 4GHz with 1.5V
C2 stepping chips usually need 1.5V for 3.8GHz
Now I noticed that in AMD overdrive when I put core multiplier to 19x and raised my voltage to 1.5 it shows on the top right the Target Voltage and Current voltage. The target voltage says 1.5 and the current voltage was 1.0 and flashed 1.5 for a second and then returned to 1.0? Any reason why its doing this? Theres also a slider for CPU VID and NB VID, am i doing anything with the NB VID slider?
Darkfalz is offline  
Old 03-29-2010, 05:51 AM   #28 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Buffalo, WY, USA
Posts: 226
Default Re: Some ATI Crossfire AMD System Overclock Suggestions.

For what its worth, i have a 5770 clocked at 900 core/1400 memory, with MSI Afterburner. Good program, can monitor many things while in game, temps, fps, etc.

You should be able to get your PhII to 3.8-4 by just upping the multiplyer, but you will probably have to add some voltage, maybe 1.45v-ish.

You may also benifit from upping the north bridge multi so your getting 2400-2600 on that.
__________________

Tro1086 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD ATI Radeon HD 5970 two-GPU graphics card Osiris New Technology and Products 1 12-09-2009 12:04 PM
AMD ATI Radeon HD 5870 Video Card Review Osiris New Technology and Products 1 09-23-2009 01:00 PM
AMD Launches ATI Catalyst 9.8 via Blog Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 08-18-2009 12:05 AM
AMD / ATi Catalyst 7.11 Drivers Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 7 11-22-2007 01:30 PM
AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 01:41 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.