Sold 128mb 9800pro and Bought 6600gt - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-06-2005, 05:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 204
Default Sold 128mb 9800pro and Bought 6600gt

Hey!!

I just sold my ATI Radeon 9800pro on eBay for $165 and then bought a refurbished XFX 6600gt off of Newegg for $164

Was this a good decision?

How do I get rid of all the ATI driver stuff on my PC???
__________________

__________________
ACE’s System
Athlon 64 3000+ Venice @ 2.25GHz
EpoX 9NPA+ Ultra
2x512mb Patriot XBLK
256mb BFG 7600GT
Samsung 200GB 8mb
500W Apevia (Aspire) PSU
Samsung CD-RW
Logitech Z-3 2.1
IBM 17”
Windows 2000 PRO

3DMARK05 - 6***
Ace No-Money is offline  
Old 03-06-2005, 05:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 286
Default

very nice choice...Reboot in safe mode then uninstall your ati drivers by start>controll panel>add/remove programs. Reboot your comp and install the nvidia drivers. leme know how the xfx goes cuhz im thinkin of buying one =D
__________________

__________________
foreverxyoung is offline  
Old 03-06-2005, 05:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

Sweet, very good idea. You got a good deal on that 6600 GT. Is it in good shape?
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 03-06-2005, 06:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Go to www.guru3d.com , they have programs that will completely remove drivers for ATI or nvidia. Not sure if they have one program that will do both companies or one for each. Think it's called like "detonator driver remover" for ATI. But yeah going into safemode and removing the files using that program is the best way to do it.

I know I love my 6600GT thus far...let me know what you think of yours

I OC'd it the first day. Got 565/999 (just under a GHz damnit!)

and that raised my 3dmark03 from 7555 to 8200, I'm thinkin if I do 550 it will probably withstand 1ghz on the memory, but it's the first day so I didn't really give it time to warm up and burn in haha
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-06-2005, 07:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

lol Nubius, you just couldent help yourself huh.
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 03-06-2005, 08:52 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

lol no I couldn't. I had to see within the first day

Sometime next month I want to get a new and improved water setup and get the MAZE4 GPU block and some tweakmonster RAMsinks, and hopefully get some better results
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-06-2005, 08:53 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

You just did a -1$ upgrade. It's very hard to upgrade without using more money.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 03-06-2005, 09:08 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

lol yeah I didn't even think of it like that. Very nice upgrade indeed.
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-06-2005, 09:59 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 204
Default

crap! I installed new drivers on my Radeon card and now it works great on HL2!

Oh well maybe the 6600gt will perform even betterwith AA/AF

BTW
how do you turn AF on in HL2?
__________________
ACE’s System
Athlon 64 3000+ Venice @ 2.25GHz
EpoX 9NPA+ Ultra
2x512mb Patriot XBLK
256mb BFG 7600GT
Samsung 200GB 8mb
500W Apevia (Aspire) PSU
Samsung CD-RW
Logitech Z-3 2.1
IBM 17”
Windows 2000 PRO

3DMARK05 - 6***
Ace No-Money is offline  
Old 03-06-2005, 10:01 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 296
Default

should of done that earlier
__________________

__________________

AMD Athlon 64 3200+ \"Venice\"
ASRock 939Dual-SATA2
2GB OCZ Platinum DDR400
eVGA 256mb 6800GT
ANTEC 430watt TruePower 2.0
WD 160GB 8MB cache HDD
NEC 16x Dual Layer DVD+/-RW
xteam02001 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.