Software based overclocking - smarter? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-12-2006, 08:35 PM   #11 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

I dont think it would, he has xms2 800mhz.
__________________

__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 12-12-2006, 09:44 PM   #12 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

Im saying hes gonna have to losen timings up and increase ram voltage for it to be stable I bet.
__________________

__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 12-13-2006, 05:23 AM   #13 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Pepsiboy700
You didnt have to say were all dumb and wrong. We were partly right.
sorry, a bit rash for me to say that i know, i was at work when i typed it.. and just grumpy from being at work..

my apologies
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 12-13-2006, 08:32 AM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 79
Default

NosBoost300 - How am i wrong:?

I know you use software for going seriously high on the overclock, but my point is... why use the Bios at all?

I mean - as i said - if you are running a half decent computer you dont need the CPU overclocked for general computing... so preserve your components and run them at stock... untill you want to play a game... when you use the software and overclock the CPU a lot (you will know from prior testing where it is stable).
I know you use software for the top end overclock... but just remind me again... how am i wrong? Oh yeah... and what is dumb in overclocking your CPU with software (as long as you do it incramentally with the correct divider settings).
I know you were at work and grumpy... apology accepted.
__________________
Max
Max2559 is offline  
Old 12-13-2006, 04:18 PM   #15 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Max2559
NosBoost300 - How am i wrong:?

I know you use software for going seriously high on the overclock, but my point is... why use the Bios at all?

I mean - as i said - if you are running a half decent computer you dont need the CPU overclocked for general computing... so preserve your components and run them at stock... untill you want to play a game... when you use the software and overclock the CPU a lot (you will know from prior testing where it is stable).
I know you use software for the top end overclock... but just remind me again... how am i wrong? Oh yeah... and what is dumb in overclocking your CPU with software (as long as you do it incramentally with the correct divider settings).
I know you were at work and grumpy... apology accepted.
oh no, your not wrong, i was referring to everyone that was saying windows overclocking was for lazy people.. that was the statement i was calling wrong.

and i'll agree with you, that you can use it only when your know your gonna be doing a difficult/demanding task (such as gaming).

and as for using bios... if you want an overclock that is permanent.. so you don't have to go through the hastle all the time... overclocking through bios is the way to do it. Bio's gets way more specific with tuning compaired to easy tune 5... there i can mess with FSB voltage, take ram voltage higher than easy tune 5, and playing around with ram timings as well... there's just way more to work with in bios
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 12-13-2006, 06:25 PM   #16 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

You would have to agree people that JUST software overclock with ntune and/or clockgen are lazy and dont want to take the time to tweak ram timings, dividers, voltages, multipliers, and the FSB. Thats what I ment. I mean at some point your probably going to have to use the bios to REALLY overclock like I had to. For example, with clockgen I could only get the cpu to 2.6 ghz because I couldnt adjust my ram timings or speeds. In ntune, it had the ability to change the ram timings but nothing else and yet, it still only got 2.6 ghz. After spending 30 minutes tweakin the bios and 8 hours of prime stable I got 3ghz. NOW, I did use clockgen yesterday though to find out I can get another 150mhz out of my cpu before its un stable. It was alot easier to do that than to go to bios and try every single fsb till it wouldnt boot to windows and/or post. That very much proves what you said.
__________________

__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.