Socket 939 Opterons - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-06-2005, 06:53 PM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

So this will overclock better than a San Diego 3700+:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103595

Also will it be better at gaming then?
__________________

__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 11-06-2005, 06:56 PM   #12 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Not better for gaming. Not worse either. I expected more from you. Its a AMD processor...they're all the same for gaming...

But yea, it'll overclock to 3GHz easy.
__________________

Flanker is offline  
Old 11-06-2005, 07:00 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

So it would be better because of it's speed, not because it's an Opteron. Did I redeem myself?

Edit: I'm making a dedicated thread for this in the OC section.
__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 11-06-2005, 07:08 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default AMD Opterons

There seems to be much confusion by myself and maybe others, to why these overclock better, and if they're overclocking potential can increase gaming performance.

Have at it people, explain this.

I also have a question. Will this CPU:
http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produc...ctCode=80100-R
oc the same as this CPU:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103595

If not is it because of the quality of the lower processors is less than the higher up processors? If this is the case, then what overclocks will I see out of it?

What mobo's will work with these, is there a certain mobo that is better than another or would it be the same as the AMD 64's?

Will the same heatsinks work?

I believe I may be able to afford an upgrade after all .
__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 11-06-2005, 07:08 PM   #15 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Yes. Lets talk in your thread now.
Flanker is offline  
Old 11-06-2005, 07:09 PM   #16 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

All Socket 939 mobos with work with the Socket 939 Opterons. Heatsink comes with the processor. You could probably get the 1.8GHz to 3 GHz but would probably have more trouble than the 2.2 GHz.

You could make a thread for this...or you could head over to XS Forums and OC Forums.
Flanker is offline  
Old 11-06-2005, 07:18 PM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

Okat then, so I wouldn't need to get an aftermarket heatsink to hit 3ghz? I have a feeling this system would be good for a long while (year or two).

I plan on:
eVGA 7800gt
eVGA nF4 SLI Mobo (comes free with card)
AMD Opteron 148 Venus
ZALMAN CNPS7700-CU

Undecided between these two:
ARCTIC COOLING AVC-NV5R3 NV Silencer Rev.3
or
ZALMAN VF700-CU 2 Ball VGA COOLER

Sound like it will last a while? I wish to be able to play games like F.E.A.R and FarCry with max settings. Maybe unlock the GT to GTX if I can figure out how.
__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 11-06-2005, 07:23 PM   #18 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Yea, it would probably last a year or two. But don't expect to get 3GHz from that mobo. Theres a reason they give it out for free.

No, you won't need a aftermarket HSF to hit 3GHz, but it would be nice to have one. You don't need a $60 HSF, a $30-$40 will be MORE THAN ENOUGH.
Flanker is offline  
Old 11-06-2005, 07:31 PM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

I was just thinking that HSF would be the best... Maybe I could get higher than 3ghz clocks. That would be amazing! Also will 64bit programs work the same with the Opteron as they would with a regular AMD 64bit cpu?

Also, I want to get the DFI Lapnaparty nF4 SLI mobo... the $189 one, but then I couldn't get a 7800gt. I'd end up with a 6800gt max, but more likely a 6600gt because of the price of the mobo. So I'm thinking I get the 7800gt with free mobo and see how high I can overclock with it, and when my B-Day comes in February I might be able to get the DFI mobo...
__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 11-06-2005, 07:36 PM   #20 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

OMG. Yes dude. They're all basically the same. They're like Athlon 64s that overclock really high.

You probably won't get past 3.1GHz. People much more experienced than youself and I have tried and have gotten to 3GHz. You might not even make it, overclocking isn't THAT easy. An experienced overclocker will get it to 3GHz.
__________________

Flanker is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.